Dinner Fiasco – the 1st reported fiasco of surely more to come…

Every once in a while there is a dinner fiasco in the kitchen, am I right? Most housewives are aware of what I mean by this…! Like the time last year, when I learned that it is NOT smart to attempt frying homemade hush puppies in a lid-less saucepan with oil that is too hot because I didn’t own a cooking thermometer! Talk about a smoke bomb permeating the entire top level of the town home. The smoke seriously brought tears to our eyes, and my family ended up eating fish and cole slaw, with no hush puppies, in the basement.

I wanted to try some new Twisted Pepper Enchilada Seasoning Mix that I bought at Get Cooking this past weekend. I needed two 15 ounce cans of tomato sauce to mix with the seasonings. Went to the grocery store this afternoon with the Three-bies (my pet name for all three kids at once), and between the “cool it’s” and “stop that’s” somehow bought two 8 ounce cans of tomato sauce instead…. Of course, this little mistake wasn’t realized until right when I was ready to prepare dinner. And, upon further investigation, my cheese-loving son, Ben, ate so much shredded cheddar cheese for his afternoon snack that there wasn’t enough left for the enchiladas.

So, with two things working against the enchiladas, it’s a race to put a different dinner together PRONTO! I pulled Boca meatless chicken patties out of the freezer, seasoned some fries with extra virgin olive oil and sea salt, washed off some grapes, and we’re good for dinner! My enchilada craving will have to wait until tomorrow night…

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner Fiasco – the 1st reported fiasco of surely more to come…

  1. Gregg Bolinger says:

    I thought dinner was yummy!

  2. Candace says:

    Thank you, baby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

