Outdoor Friends

Dsc_6008

I enjoy photographing nature so much because God has put some seriously interesting-looking characters on this earth!  Several times each week, I go out in the backyard and “walk the perimeter.”  Why???  Because the previous owners of this backyard planted a veritable Ode to Kansas Prairie Plants...!  It’s time for someone to tame the craziness!  I daydream about what I want the yard to look like someday, and then reality sets in when I realize how much work there is to be done.   At this very moment, a TON of stubborn weeds threaten to take over the entire yard…..

Today, as I was making my way around the perimeter, this little grasshopper was staring out at me from the day lilies!  Isn’t he charming?  If I moved to the left, the little guy (let’s call him Stan) moved to the right.  If I moved to the right, then Stan moved to the left.  He was dodging me, for sure!  Stan was very uncertain of my camera lens.  This is not the first outdoor friend that I have made on my walks, there have been plenty of lovely ladybugs (too many to count), a couple of vibrant green grasshoppers, a stick bug, a few baby skippers, some unmentionable winged insects that like to sting, and many others.

Amidst the chaos of the weeds and the over/under-planted landscape beds, I do find peace in nature and serenity in being outdoors.  If you stop to smell the roses (particularly the knock out roses in the front yard on the right!) but seriously, if you stop to take a look around in your flower beds you might make some outdoor friends too!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

