Foiled Again… No Enchiladas Tonight

My husband woke up bright and early this morning to have breakfast with a friend from church.  He then proceeded to head across town to have our vehicle checked for some bumpy weirdness (that’s really all the expertise I can offer on that subject)!  A service associate was kind enough to drive my husband home, so that I wouldn’t have to drive across town in our second, less reliable vehicle to pick him up.  Everything was fine and dandy until I realized that the keys to our second vehicle were missing….

WHERE WERE THEY?  I looked in the kitchen junk bowl, in the office, in all of my purses….

Well, it turns out that the keys were in, no other than, the vehicle that was being serviced for bumpy weirdness across town.  The Bolinger Family has been stranded at home ALL day long.  The molten 108 degree temperature has discouraged us from spending any quality time outdoors, with the exception of my earlier walk around the yard.  So, you know what that means, lots of movies for the kids today!  Know what else that means?  I was unable to attain the two 15 ounce cans of tomato sauce that were necessary to make some enchiladas tonight….

What else sounded good for dinner?  How about some non-traditional pad thai?  

Dsc_6029

Dsc_6032

Why is it non-traditional?  Because I used rice noodles and pad thai sauce, but instead of using bean sprouts, green onions, peanuts, and egg, I opted for:  broccoli, bell pepper, zucchini, sweet onion, and baby corn, so it was more of a stir fry with pasta.  While I was serving up the kid’s bowls, I defrosted some pre-cooked, deveined shrimp in a colander in the sink (just let cool water run over them for a few minutes and they’re ready to eat).  Tossed the shrimp into a bowl and threw my vegetable-pasta medley right on top; this way the heat from the veggies and pasta warm up the shrimp!  My tummy was quite delighted this evening, and is quite full from the second helping!

As I sat with a happy belly, my husband was kindly toted back across town by his friend, Brent (THANK YOU, Brent!!!) to retrieve our car.  The auto shop had called earlier in the afternoon to let us know that there were a few things wrong:  there was some tar in the tires causing the bumpy weirdness, there was a metal object in one of the tires that required a patch, the car’s computer was suffering from a glitch that needed a software update (I’m sorry, but are we driving a car or a computer?  Both, you say?), and the poor baby needed an oil change.  After all was said and done, the Bolinger’s Journey was serviced and returned home in record time!  
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

