Finalmente! Enchiladas Para Cenar! Finally! Enchiladas for dinner!

I’m sure that you’re probably all on the edge of your seats wondering, “Did she make the enchiladas tonight? Was there another crisis prohibiting the Bolinger Family from enjoying cheesy goodness for three nights in a row? Are the enchiladas cursed?” To answer those questions, “Yes, No, and No!”

The enchiladas were prepared with a new-to-us spice packet called the Twisted Pepper Enchilada Spice Mix. I added about 2 1/2 TBL of the spice mix to the recently purchased 15 ounce cans of tomato sauce and let simmer for 5 minutes. Then, I made enchiladas as normal – dipping tortillas in the sauce, filling them with cheese, rolling them up, and placing them in the baking dish.

I enjoyed the finished product, but the taste wasn’t drastically different from our regular forays with Old El Paso canned enchilada sauce….. Alex gobbled her enchilada right up! Christian said it was a little too spicy for him, but still ate half. Ben was whisked away for an unexpected sleepover, so he was unable to participate in the taste test.

I still have enough spice mix to make another batch or two of enchiladas, would I use it again? Sure! I’d probably add a little less spice to my next batch to make it acceptable for all of my kid’s sensitive palettes. In the meantime, I refuse to abandon my quest for finding an authentic, adobo, almost bitter but lovely, straight from my childhood, enchilada sauce!

Adios!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finalmente! Enchiladas Para Cenar! Finally! Enchiladas for dinner!

  1. Anonymous says:

    MMMMM… Enchiladas finally! Yum!

Leave a Reply

