Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button?

When I was younger, I can remember my mom saying, “Button, button, who’s got the button?”  I had to ask her today to remind me what part of my childhood that phrase was recalling?  I caught myself singing, “Buttons, buttons, who’s got the buttons?”  Plural on the buttons because I have a TON!  Apparently, it is an old childhood game that my mom used to play when she was younger, so in turn, she taught my sister and I to play the game when we were children.  How many of you have played this game too?  One child takes a button and walks around the circle putting his/her hand in the other children’s hands eventually dropping the button into one of the child’s hands, but keeping it  a secret.  Each child gets to guess who has the button, and whoever guesses correctly wins the game!

Dsc_6194

 

Well, as I’m sure that you may have guessed by all of my talk about buttons today, I have a button-related hobby!  Button Rings!

Dsc_6195

I found ALL of these buttons (above) at an antique mall – SCORE!

Dsc_6206

 

I received a tin FULL of antique buttons from a super sweet acquaintance of my mother-in-law!  Her name is Gail and she works at a nursing home.  Gail saw my mother-in-law’s button ring and gifted me the entire tin of her grandmother’s buttons (pictured above)!  I made a few rings for Gail using her grandmother’s buttons, and she chose to wear one at her wedding – quite an honor!

Dsc_6211

 

This is my absolute FAVORITE button from Gail’s Tin – isn’t it gorgeous??!!

Dsc_6212

 

This lovely button was turned into a ring today – I had been daydreaming about this one for a while!  Things around the house are starting to feel more and more settled, so my hobbies are starting to re-surface slowly but surely!  I’ll continue to post pics of the rings as I make them, but for now, “Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button?”
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button?

  1. Anonymous says:

    🙂 I love your button rings!

Leave a Reply

