Cleaning, Crafting, and the One-Eyed Dog

The day has completely gotten away from me….  WOW!  What happened?  I woke up and helped Ben and Alex get ready to go to church with Gregg.  I stayed at home with Christian, who in spite of vomiting twice yesterday, never developed a fever and/or flu-like symptoms.  He was on a “hunger strike” this week, vowing not to eat any of his meals simply because he did not like them….  So, I think that his empty, empty stomach finally decided to revolt.  This afternoon, the Bolinger’s delighted in some unhealthy fried chicken with homemade mashed potatoes and corn, except for Christian, who ate only the strawberries off of his lunch plate.  I had to go grocery shopping for the lunch menu this morning, and figured that I may as well shop for next week’s list too. Grocery Day is usually on Monday, so now I’m one day ahead – better not let that go to my head or I’ll end up falling terribly behind!  

Figured that my self-proclaimed hiatus from cleaning had to come to an end….  I was dusting, vacuuming, cleaning the bathrooms, gathering trash, and every once in a while, I’d sneak downstairs and work a little on my top secret crafty experiments!  I finally moved ALL of my crafting mess off of the dining room table and into my office.  Tons of progress was made today!  In addition to the house being Cleaning Central, it also ended up being The Neighborhood Boy’s Hangout, which is honestly nothing new, but figured it was noteworthy since we had four extra boys in the house while the cleaning and crafting commenced!  

Dinner was a complete free-for-all.  Open the fridge, find some leftovers, heat them up and EAT!  Following dinner, Alex and Christian cleaned their bedrooms while Gregg and Ben mowed the front yard.  Now, that I read this back, I realize what has happened to the day – it has flown by in a whirlwind of productivity!  

And now, I feel like Christian’s favorite stuffed, one-eyed dog:  a little worse for the wear, but satisfied with life because I’m sleeping in a nice clean room on a nice clean bed, and I have a family who loves me despite my shortcomings.  Yes, I got all of this from staring at Christian’s beloved stuffed animal while sitting on Christian’s bedroom floor sorting through action heroes and trains!

Good Night!

Dsc_6368

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

