Rain, Rain, Come and Stay!

After an emotional roller coaster of a week, last night and so far, today, have been cathartic.  I have really felt welcomed by my small community group at church!  We had a “Ladies Plus Kiddos” evening last night while our men were out grilling brats and sharing their own fellowship!  We got to share pizza, salad, fruit, bread, a double dose of brownies, along with pregnancy and childbirth war stories, nice casual conversation, and the Guess Whose Child is Screaming Now game!  Guess whose child was screaming, “But I’m a GIRL!!!!!” in the basement, or guess whose child was just screaming because he got locked in an upstairs bedroom?  Motherhood can be so interesting can’t it?!   Seriously, though, I had a wonderful time and I’m looking forward to starting our bible study very soon!

Then, this morning at church, it felt like Pastor Ron was speaking directly to my needs from this week.  God knows what the master plan is, and He separates us or brings us together as needed for that master plan.  We don’t understand why our loved ones get sick or why good friends have to move away or any number of things that don’t gel with our desires, but they happen, and greater things will come!  Also, like Pastor Ron and/or his wife, I spend hours out in the landscaping screaming at the weeds and random plants that I don’t want…!  I have conversations with them in my head, and try to tear them down but they always come back with a vengeance.  We’ll see who wins this Summer War on Weeds though, because after all, Pastor was speaking somewhat metaphorically about that blasted bush in the backyard!  I’ve made some progress with a large evergreen nuisance and have a plan of attack for the day lilies this coming week while the kids are in school.

Which leads us to this afternoon, the final free afternoon before the school year begins again…  We had plans to meet some of Christian’s friends and their mommies (who are my friends) at the park today for a play date, but then, the flirtatious rain that has completely skirted around my neighborhood for the past several days, finally decided to come through on it’s promise showering the poor, overly heated, dry earth.  I can’t help the feelings of disappointment at having to cancel our play date, but I also can’t hold back the feelings of contentment that it’s FINALLY RAINING!!  I think that’s why I have issues with anxiety… I’m always contending with emotions on both sides of the arena!!!  LOL

Anyway, I love how the kids look at the rain as a blissful opportunity to get wet without having to take a bath, and how they refuse to see it as an obstacle standing in the way of their fun!  Ben will battle the raindrops if he has to – as you can see in the photo below, he is armed and ready with a plastic baseball bat??  The kids are playing with the neighbors and enjoying this final free afternoon.  How are you spending your afternoon?

Dsc_6515

Ben is protecting his little sister, Alex, from the steady downpour with plastic, yellow baseball bat in hand! 

Dsc_6517

 The kids make it back to our driveway just to grab an umbrella and head back over to the neighbor’s house.

Dsc_6519

Christian prefers to travel sans umbrella – he also prefers to be drenched in any way possible, i.e. standing in the pouring rain, jumping directly into a puddle, etc.!

Have a lovely Sunday, Everyone!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rain, Rain, Come and Stay!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Candace, I too, LOVE the rain. Thunderstorms are even better, but the kids cannot play in it. We used to live in the “country”. My brother and I especially became very creative. Some of my favorite times where watching my brother slide into the ditch filled with water. Filthy, grassy, and usually battle wounds…it was fantastic.

  2. Candace says:

    Too funny! Sounds like you and your brother had a blast despite any battle wounds! My little sister and I would just “muddy up” the backyard and splash around in our child-made mud puddles…. WOW! Now, that I think about it, I can’t believe we got away with that…..!

Leave a Reply

