Back to School…!

I know that I’m supposed to be making a grocery list right now, and rejoicing that I get to go to the grocery store without three kids in tow, but I can’t help myself from posting pics of Sending the Kids Back to School.  

Dsc_6542

 

We woke up early and figured out what our new morning routine will look like:  wake up kids, kids eat breakfast, kids get dressed, mom makes lunch, dad makes sure kids are presentable (brushed teeth, combed hair, matching socks and shoes), kids check backpacks and we all head out the door to the bus stop.

This is the first year that all three of my kids are in big kid school and this is the first year that all three kids will ride the bus….  So, I was slightly nervous this morning making sure each child knew at which school to hop off the bus.  When Ben was in first grade, he got off the bus at the wrong school and has been traumatized ever since….  I’m wondering if I should hop in the car and drive out to the schools just in case??

Dsc_6546

Gregg says that the kids will be just fine, so I guess I’ll continue with my blogging instead.  Alex and Christian ride the bus together and go to the same school.  They have name tags with their teacher’s name and classroom number on them, so that they’ll be directed to the appropriate location.  There were no tears from either kiddo as they made their way onto the bus and found a seat together – I hope and pray they’re having fun! 

Dsc_6549

Look at those heartbreaking little hand waves good-bye….

Ben rides a different bus and goes to a different school, which is nothing new for Ben since he’s the first born and has always gone to school solo.  He gets to ride with our next door neighbor, so they sat together this morning!  Hoping and praying that they are having fun together too!

Dsc_6551

There’s goes my big fourth grader….

So, we have all survived the “drop off” – now to see how the rest of the day goes.  Gregg went on his morning bike ride and the house is already eerily silent…..  I’m sure I’ll come to appreciate that silence as our routine solidifies.  Now that Gregg is home and chatting my ear off, he has agreed to accompany me to the grocery store!

Good luck to all the other parents out there who have sent their kids off on their first day of school!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

