Skippers Around the Perimeter

Unfortunately, this week has gotten off to a patchy start, as Christian got sick and was unable to go to school today….  He was up last night writhing around with a tummy bug.  After the virus ran it’s course, Christian was thankfully able to fall asleep and stayed asleep for the rest of the night.  This morning he ate his breakfast wholeheartedly and chomped down his lunch, so I’d say he’s feeling MUCH better now! 

Sadly though, I’ve been stuck in the doldrums for a few days, which is one of the reasons I was so looking forward to group bible study this morning, aside from seeing my newfound group of sisters, which does include a long lost twin (you know when you meet someone who you have so many similarities with that you deduce you must have been separated at birth??!!).  The theme of our bible study is: learning to be content in all seasons of life.  But, I missed the first meeting with a sick boy at home, so will instead get started on the reading/work for week two and wait anxiously for the next meeting.

Until then, how to get the day back on track?  It was an easy decision to grab my camera before going on a “perimeter walk” this afternoon – photography and nature always make me feel better!  Plus I haven’t photographed anything in a couple of days and nature is always doing something interesting!  I started by admiring the abundance of bright red berries on one of the trees in the landscaping.

Dsc_6812

Walking along, I marveled at the delicacy of the leaves on this plant.  When we first moved into the house, I saw the remnants of this plant from last winter and thought, “This has got to go!”  But, Gregg and I vowed to leave everything in it’s place to see how it would grow and in which season it would bloom, which things are weeds and which are not.  And so, this plant that is so horribly ugly in the winter has put me in my place and shown how beautiful and hardy it can be in spring and summer!

Dsc_6814

Next, I checked on the flowering tree along the iron fence, yet another plant of which I was unsure….  Can you tell that I have had no prior experience with landscaping/lawn care, etc.?  Every day is a new adventure.  I know that Sara has told me the name of this tree before, but for the life of me cannot remember right now….  What a gorgeous bloom!  And there have been loyal blooms the entire summer so far!

Dsc_6819

Toward the end of my perimeter walk, I checked on the taller-than-me plant life along the wooden fence – seriously had no idea how tall these plants would eventually stand (at least over 5 ft. 2 1/2 in. because that’s how tall I am)!  There were a few yellow blooms left on the extended stalks…  the summer heat has been mercilessly beating down on everything in the yard.  Thankfully, Gregg and our next door neighbor added those new sprinkler heads when they did, otherwise, I don’t think we’d have anything living in the back third of the yard…!  

 And, guess what I found fluttering all around those cherished blooms for an afternoon snack?  Skippers!  Aren’t they cute?

Dsc_6832

 Skippers are related to both butterflies and moths, which make them slightly difficult to classify.  They have wings, antennae, and a proboscis.  They are dull in color, compared to butterflies, and stay awake during the day unlike the nocturnal moth.  You can see the skipper’s proboscis penetrating the flower looking for nutrients. 

Head on view of the skipper using his proboscis.  Look at those antennae sticking straight out on both sides – this little guy means business!

Dsc_6841

Always so nice to see sharing in nature!  These skippers feast together

Dsc_6843

Once my walk was complete, I rushed inside and transferred photo files from my camera to my computer!  No, I’m not excited at all….!  Tee hee!  I have received some renewal from God’s gift of nature today, and I’m hoping that it’s enough to get me through the heap of laundry on my bedroom floor….!  We’ll see!  Hope you all are having a nature-filled, blessed day!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skippers Around the Perimeter

  1. Anonymous says:

    Candace, I love seeing what you find to photograph! You inspire me so much… I have been thinking about taking up photography. Any suggestions on cameras and such? I need something easy enough for a beginner but I want to be able to get the incredible quality in the up close photos like you do. I am planning on just telling everyone that is what I want for Christmas! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Rose of Sharon….m’dear! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Candace says:

    Awww, thanks Jess! :)I have used a Canon Point & Shoot 6 megapixel camera, Canon Rebel XT 10 megapixel, and currently use a Nikon D300 12.3 megapixel. I loved my little point & shoot and got some great pics on it, so I would highly recommend it for a beginner. In my opinion, as long as you find a camera with 6+ megapixels then you’re good! Point & Shoot cameras have more automatic options, so you can just turn a dial to have your ISO, WB, apertures, etc. adjusted for the type of lighting, setting you’re in. Between brands, I am absolutely loving my Nikon right now!!! So, maybe look for a point & shoot Nikon with 6+ megapixels. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

