For Those of You Who Are Not Tired of Zoo Pics: Lions, Tigers, & Bears, Plus a Funky Looking Bird

Dsc_7001

Last night was Tuesday night – “the zoo stays open late” night! And, it was, of course, another perfect evening to enjoy a twilight walk at the zoo. How are we getting so lucky? Is Autumn in the Air? I was hoping this bear could tell me! He had his gigantor sniffer going!

Dsc_7107

But, I didn’t really get much information out of the bear who reminds me so much of my furry kid, Maddie Mae. Maddie’s a BIG, lovable, 80 pound chocolate Lab who enjoys licking people’s faces and playing fetch! Here’s a pic of Madds in her natural habitat.

Dsc_7013

There’s a little bit of a resemblance, don’t you think?!  Chocolate fur and an adorable, squishable face!  There may be a slight weight differential…

Dsc_7009

Anyway, this bear signaled that our photo shoot was over by covering his eyes with a mammoth paw (Don’t poke your eye out, bear!). I did find this quite impressive! And, so we moved on.

Dsc_7025

The tigers were up and pacing this evening. They could sense that it was almost time for bedtime snackies, or nibbles, as my friend’s doggies would call them! The two male tigers would take turns on the platform with one pacing and the other showing off for the crowd.

Dsc_7042

The male tigers didn’t seem to care for each other too much because they were hissing at each other and would NOT share the platform….  This tiger looked like he was ready to pounce – lying in wait….

Dsc_7049

What I later found out was that the tiger was waiting to vomit…. first time I’ve ever seen a tiger vomit…. no comment…. And, moving on again!

Dsc_7070

My FAVORITE pic of the night!!!!! Lion Nuzzle – a loving gesture between the lions! So sweet! I hear they’re expecting a baby in Sept.!

Dsc_7062

At first, the lions were in hiding – their habitat looked vacant. Then, all of a sudden, the female lion comes out and coughs at us… No, I’m not kidding, she had a gravelly cough!

Dsc_7072

Then the male came out in all of his furry splendor.  He snuggled his significant other and then took his place as “King of the Rock!”

So, we’ve seen the majestic coughing lions, the feisty vomiting tigers, and the dog-like super shy bears. What’s left? Oh yes, the funky looking bird!

Dsc_6943_2

TAH-DAH!  It was an interesting experience trying to photograph this crested pigeon with a snow cone in one hand and a camera in the other….  Note to self:  next time, sit down and eat the snow cone before venturing on!  But this bird was extremely comfortable with a camera lens up in her face, and she stayed in place atop her identifying sign until I got a close up shot of that amazing headdress! 

That’s all for this zoo visit!  Hope you’re not completely bored by zoo pics yet…?  While the animals are the same from week to week, they are always showing off their unique personalities and doing something different.  They keep me entertained!  

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Those of You Who Are Not Tired of Zoo Pics: Lions, Tigers, & Bears, Plus a Funky Looking Bird

  1. Anonymous says:

    Candace, I honestly don’t think I could ever become bored by your photography! You do such an amazing job! Maybe a future career???

  2. Candace says:

    Thanks so much, Jess! I do love photographing nature/wildlife! If I could photograph for a nature/wildlife magazine, that could be cool! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

