Salsa & Strawberry Cheesecake on Saturday – Not Necessarily Served Simultaneously!

My goal for this morning was to sleep in until 11:00am….  Just couldn’t do it though!  My internal clock is now set to 7:00am, so the latest I could sleep in was around 9-ish.  Surprisingly, I felt well rested though and was ready to start the day!  

First thing on my list:  last minute shopping at Wal-Mart.  It wasn’t too painful at 9-ish in the morning.  More and more people had started trickling in by the time I was checking out though.  I happily put my bags in the back of the Journey and headed back home, relieved that I had dodged the crazy lines and crowds at America’s Busiest Retailer!

Second thing on my list:  Landscaping, Landscaping, Landscaping.  It was pretty easy work weeding the “Landscaping Bed in Question” a.k.a. LBIQ.  I found a laborer, who works for free, simply because he enjoys digging in the dirt!!!  Ben was a HUGE help with the digging of the holes!

Dsc_7198

Maddie Mae wanted to help with the digging as well.  She kept a close eye on the hole that Ben was digging – we’re not sure, but we think she was looking for bunnies (they have nested in our yard before)!  

Dsc_7200

Ben was such a big helper, in general, today.  He watered the plants on the side of the house, dug holes in the LBIQ, and even helped his dad give Maddie a bath!

Dsc_7202

Maddie decided to take her newly bathed coat of chocolate fur and roll around in the dirt…  

Dsc_7216

She’s SO ornery…..!

Dsc_7222

But, she’s also SO beautiful – dirt and all!

Dsc_7220

And, what a gorgeous profile!

 Ben, Maddie and I realized what a BIG job we had on our hands and quickly brought Gregg in to lend some muscle!  Gregg had already fixed a sprinkler leak issue, so he just hopped over to the LBIQ and dug some major landscaping holes.  Then, he dug up the day lilies that I needed to move from the center of the landscaping into the LBIQ.  After a couple of sweat and dirt hours later, and after a trip to Lowe’s to purchase some fresh dirt, we successfully dug up two mondo clumps of day lilies, separated them into four separate plants, and re-planted them in the LBIQ!

F.Y.I.  Scary photo following of a creepy crawler that we found in the day lilies!!!!!!  Just sayin’……

Dsc_7225

I took this photo specifically for my friend, Christina, who isn’t afraid to photograph a creepy, crawly spider every now and again!  I’m not even sure if she reads this blog or not?  But this photo is for her!

Gregg had to move the spider from the direct center of one of the day lilies that we were ready to transplant, but not before I took a quick photo of it.  He’s such a supportive hubby, and I love him to bits!  AND, I’m so relieved that I saw the spider BEFORE I leaned over to “hug” the day lily as we uprooted it from the earth!!!!

So, all of this work made us ravenous by 4:00pm.  

Dsc_7234

Made some enchiladas with white corn tortillas for dinner.  This time, I just used the regular canned enchilada sauce and cheddar cheese.  Those white corn tortillas really make the meal for me because they lend a more authentic Mexican flavor, in my humble opinion.

Dsc_7195

 Also, made some slow cooked salsa – you read that correctly, I use my slow cooker for LOTS of things!!!!  What do you like in your salsa???  I put roma tomatoes, onions, garlic,  jalapenos, cilantro, lime juice, and sea salt in mine.  Whatever your ingredients, try throwing them in the slow cooker for 2 1/2 hours and then blending everything together!  It’s quite delightful!

Dsc_7229

The BFF and I had been discussing “No Bake Cheesecakes” last week.  They are a lighter version of real cheesecake, and you don’t have to use the oven, so this is a perfect dessert for the hot summer season.  Bonus:  fresh strawberries are in season and are a wonderful surprise at the bottom of this dessert!

Dsc_7231

This is the cream cheese, whipped topping, sweet filling that goes on top of the strawberry layer.  It isn’t as dense as a real cheesecake, and so it doesn’t ever really “set up” like a real cheesecake either.  Let it chill in the fridge for a while and then pull out a big spoon to serve it.  While slightly messier than it’s regular sister, “No Bake Cheesecake” is still a winner in my book!

After dinner, Gregg, the kids, and I had a “Family Fun Night” – rented and watched Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.  I will start by saying that the kids loved it because it was adventurous and there were lots of battles with swords, water powers, lightning bolts, etc.  But, wow, I was NOT expecting some of the super scary imagery, i.e Hades and his minions, the minotaurs, etc.  The movie entertained it’s target audience, however; I’m just not it’s target audience….  “Family Fun Night” was still a lot of fun though, because we were all together enjoying popcorn and a movie, in-between the door bell ringing because the neighbor kids wanted to PLAY!  Gregg wants to make a sign for the door, “Family Fun Night in Progress, Please Do Not Disturb!”

I’m going to have to end this post before it becomes even more book-ish and put a sign on my bedroom door, for the kids in the morning, “Terribly Tired Mama Sleeping, Do Not Disturb!”  Let’s see how long I can sleep in!  Good night!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salsa & Strawberry Cheesecake on Saturday – Not Necessarily Served Simultaneously!

  1. Anonymous says:

    I swear I am going to start showing up at your house just so I can eat whatever you all are eating!!! Looks delish!

  2. Candace says:

    I smell a dinner party coming on – you, Pat, and the kiddos should come over for dinner one night soon! I’ll bet Kyle and Ben would love that! 😉

Leave a Reply

