Illness Update

Dsc_7290

So, right off the bat, I’d like to show off the Nail Polish Remover Version of Mom by Ben Bolinger!  A few nights ago, before sickness descended upon the Bolinger household, Ben was working feverishly on a craft project for me.  I was banished from his bedroom until it was finished.  Right in time for bed, Ben very sheepishly presented me with this cute little hand-decorated statue – I think that he was unsure as to whether or not I’d like it?  Well, I just LOVE it!  He’s such a creative, crafty, young spirit!  I have my statuette hanging out in the kitchen right now, but she will take permanent residence in my craft room as soon as it is clean….  may take a little while…  I’ve been taking care of sick kids, so my craft room is kind of low priority right now.

Which brings me back to the sicknesses passing from child to child through schools across America.  Ben and Alex both had a “night from hades” on Monday – neither could sleep because of congestion, fevers, what-have-you….  All three of my children stayed home from school on Tuesday since Ben and Alex were awake on the futon all night, Gregg and I were up and down checking on kids and running out to Wal-Mart for last minute OTC meds, and Christian, the only one who actually slept, woke up complaining that his coughs were hurting his throat.  Later in the day, I realized that Christian was just fine to go to school (he played really hard and stayed really noisy ALL day while the other two kids were crashed out on the cough looking miserable).  Christian did go to school today!

Alex still has a fever, is barking like a seal, and is on the verge of losing her voice entirely.  Ben actually sounds a bit better today!  So, this is how it’s going down:  their pediatrician had one appointment available for this afternoon.  Alex will get that appointment, will probably get a strep test, and will hopefully get some antibiotics.  I’ll keep an eye on Ben for the rest of the day and see how things progress.  If we need a doctor’s intervention, then we’ll pray for another open slot tomorrow as well.

Prayers please for the Bolinger kiddos AND for the other sick children around the country and the world.  I cannot believe what a big ball of anxiety I turn into when my kids are sick, and praise the Lord that they are otherwise very generally healthy!  So many other children are probably battling back to school illnesses right now too, or even something worse….  I’m going to pray for health issues (general and specific), and then, Alex has requested lunch, which is a very good sign – a returning appetite!!!  

Have a healthy afternoon!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Illness Update

  1. Anonymous says:

    Barking like a seal? Sounds like Pertussis or whooping cough… Usually isn’t too bad in older kiddos though. Maybe a cough syrup with codiene in it would help! Prayers for better health!!!

  2. Candace says:

    I guess Alex didn’t get an “official” diagnosis… Strep test came back negative. She was exhibiting signs of a sinus infection, even though her nasal, aural and throat passages didn’t look too bad. She’s on an antibiotic for the next 10 days. Thanks for prayers! It sounds like prayers for Jake are in order too?! How’s he doing? How are you holding up with zero sleep……?

Leave a Reply

