Button Magnets and the Great Pop Can Explosion of 2010

A couple of unrelated topics here.  First, let’s just get it over with.  An unopened can of Dr. Pepper slipped out of my hand this afternoon at lunch…  When the can hit the hardwood floors, a carbonated geyser exploded all over the kitchen…..  It was the worst spill/explosion that I have seen in a LONG time!  Sticky pop splattered all over my clothes, Christian’s clothes, the nearby chairs and bar stools, the counter, the kitchen table, and don’t forget the floor.  I’ve been extremely clumsy the past couple of days, for whatever reason, but this absolutely takes the cake.  The now named, Great Pop Can Explosion of 2010, will go down in the family history books alongside the Unexpected Rootbeer Geyser (when my mother-in-law shocked the family reunion by opening a slightly temperamental 2-liter of root beer that proceeded to decorate her kitchen with a layer of sticky liquid) and the Move-In Pop Disaster of 2005 (when my family had just moved into our apartment in Kansas City, and after struggling through a maze of furniture and boxes, ended up spilling a large soft drink all over the brand new carpet).  So, while spills are commonplace in our family, we definitely have some “stand outs” – how about you?!

Second, I have an obsession with buttons, which most of you already know!  And, I wanted to somehow use them to help decorate my refrigerator.  I had printed off some current photos of the kids and pets, but didn’t have enough magnets to display the photos on the currently barren, magnetic surface that is my fridge.  So, why not use a small percentage of my button stash to make refrigerator magnets?  I’m sure it’s been done before, and I’m sure it will continue to be done, but here’s my take on the button craft.

Dsc_7286

I super glued some fun, coordinating buttons together and then added a self-adhesive magnet to the back – pretty simple, right?

Dsc_7448

And, now, the fridge looks so CUTE!  

Well, since I spent the majority of my time yesterday working on the yard and spent a sizable amount of time mopping up a soda mess today, the rest of the indoor chores are calling my name.  Better get back to work.  Have a spill-free Sunday! 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

