Pepperoni Pizza Casserole

Dsc_7124

Have any of you ever tried a pizza casserole???  Oh my goodness, I think this dish is quite yummy!  You basically use a pasta base, which could be any shape that you prefer.  I used linguine and cooked according to package instructions.  Then, I made this delightful sauce:  15 oz. tomato sauce, 14 oz. pizza sauce, 6 oz. tomato paste, 1/2 tsp. sugar, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. dried oregano, and a dash of salt and pepper.  Mix the cooked pasta into and sauce.  Spray the bottom of a 13 x 9 baking dish with cooking spray, and then layer half of the pasta in the dish.  Cover pasta with mozzarella cheese and sliced pepperoni.  Layer the second half of the pasta and top with more cheese and pepperoni.  You can get creative with this recipe by layering cooked sausage, onions, mushrooms, green peppers, etc. before baking.  My family tends to be extremely picky, so I used the bare essentials in my casserole.  Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 20 – 30 minutes.

Dsc_7452

Yummy!  Yummy!

Dsc_7415

And, here’s a picture of Alex and Gregg on Alex’s first day of soccer practice!  This year, we have two soccer kids because Christian is playing too!  Alex’s first practice was a little intimidating and she cried the whole time, but Gregg walked her around the field and made her stick with it.  She did much better this evening – jumped right in, no tears!!!!  Christian’s first official practice will be on Thursday, and then both kids have games on Saturday.  I’ll have to start taking my camera to get a few shots at practice, and of course, game shots!

It has been such a long Labor Day – started out in the yard again with a weeding frenzy (thank goodness the trash was running today!) then I had to harass the kids to pick up little piles of toys all over the house (which uses up a huge chunk of my energy), there was Alex’s soccer practice (which was actually a windy delight with the possibility of an impending storm), and of course, there were dishes and laundry to be done (story of my life…!), and all of this with my Hubbs feeling sick….  Prayers for Hubbs that he’ll recover soon from whatever virus/bug that has invaded his system.  Super sleepy….  must go to bed now….  good night….!

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pepperoni Pizza Casserole

  1. Anonymous says:

    This is the second post, the other wouldn’t save. said WOW that lasagna looks great! so does the salad. I am going to have to write that down and try it out, with the pepperoni’s, yum!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Posterous must be having issues this morning as my first post didn’t save either! I said I agree with Alicia… YUM!!! I make a spaghetti casserole kinda like that but you put a layer of cream cheese mixed with sour cream and italian seasoning between the pasta and the sauce! Kinda like ricotta in a lasagna! I think we may have to try this tonight though!

  3. Candace says:

    Posterous always seems to be having issues…. I think I’ve posted too many times to easily move my blog now, so guess I’m stuck! I do appreciate all of your posts though, ladies! Makes me feel like I’m not writing in vain! I hope that you both try the pizza casserole and enjoy it! Let me know if you like it, ok?! Jess, I’ll have to try your version as well – could you give me the particulars as to the amounts of each ingredient?Have a great night!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Making the pizza casserole tonight! Can’t wait!

  5. Candace says:

    Yea, Jess! Let me know what you put in yours and if you liked it!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

