Weekend Work

Lots was accomplished this weekend!  Where to begin….

Dsc_7605

How about in my frequently mentioned flower bed?!?  This is the “After” picture of one of several beds that the Hubbs and I have been working on, but this is the one that we’ve accomplished the most with so far!  I’ve posted a “before” picture below.  You’ll notice that we weeded an entire jungle from this space, transplanted 6 day lilies (these were the aforementioned 3 day lilies that we divided a few weeks ago), divided and transplanted a few irises, added three misshapen stepping stones, and removed the compost bin.  The future plan is to line the bed with landscaping pavers when the budget allows.

Dsc_5642

“Before” pic of backyard flower bed.

Dsc_7603

My wagon load of irises!  Gregg still wasn’t feeling well this weekend, but I was motivated to get these babies moved, so LONG story short, I cut the irises out of the landscaping cover, separated them into well over a dozen bulbs with root systems, moved some of them into the flower bed photographed above, and then moved the rest into a flower bed in the front yard.

Dsc_7609

Guess who was keeping me company all day?  Her footprints were following me all over the yard:  woman’s best friend, Maddie Mae!

Dsc_7613

I also had this little lady keeping me company in the front yard – she seemed to like the new Iris Island addition to her flower bed!

Dsc_7616

By 4:00pm, the majority of the yard work that I wanted to get done was finished!

Dsc_7637

Madds and I wore ourselves out…..

Dsc_7513

And, so I made an uninspiring dinner, and then set off to finish the decorations for the kids’ basement bathroom.  Their motif is zoo animals – seemed like a good idea to appease 2 boys and 1 girl with gender neutral subject matter and color scheme.  We have been to the zoo too many times to count this summer – thank goodness for our zoo membership!  This was a different way for me to use some of the pictures taken there.

Dsc_7515

I decoupaged my photographs to little wooden boards and slapped on finishing coats of acrylic, tied some animal print ribbons for hangers, and then put them up on the wall!

Dsc_7642

For these, I put toothed photo hangers on the back of each and put them up on the wall – didn’t want to over due with the ribbon accents….  These three photos are right above where the kid’s towel bar is supposed to be.  I say, supposed to be, because Christian decided to hang from the original towel bar “pretending to be a monkey, mom!” and ripped it from the wall.  I made sure NOT to photograph my horrible patching job – need some wall finishing lessons…. and will replace the bar ASAP!

Dsc_7647

Anyhoo, this project was seriously easy on my budget!  I did have some supplies already on hand, but only ended up spending about $10.00 for wooden plaques, photographs, and ribbons.  And, I get to tell the kids that I made these decorations just for them!  FYI, I did not make the shower curtain – bought it at Wal-Mart for an additional cost.

Dsc_7663

Last but not least, I wanted you to meet my generous looking garden friend, Grimwald.  When I came home from a busy Monday morning, this calm natured guy was chilling out in the backyard.  Isn’t he the cutest???  I had to photograph this outdoor friend specifically for my mother-in-law, who has a passion for collecting frogs!   This photo’s for you, Jan!  

I am happy to report that Gregg is feeling markedly better today!  He’s still a little weak and super sleepy, but he attempted a bike ride this morning, which lets me know that he’s getting some energy back!  Now, I’d better sign off and address this growing mountain of laundry, plus the other myriad of chores that accumulate while I’m working away in the great outdoors…!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

