Great Apple Harvest

Dsc_7810

The Bolinger Family went to the apple orchard on Monday night!!!  I know, I know, I’m slightly behind on the blog…..  Again, the extracurriculars are kicking my behind and I’m sticking to that as my excuse!  Just tonight, our entire family was overjoyed that soccer practices (plural) were rained out for the evening – CANCELLED!  So, we spent a lovely, rainy, relaxed evening at home!

Dsc_7813

Back to the orchard though – it was a nice, windy evening.  Not too hot, but not really cool either – let’s go with “moderate.”  The sun was in and out of the clouds, so we had some interesting lighting for photos!

Dsc_7861

Gregg helping Alex pick an apple – such a sweet moment!

Dsc_7820

Can you tell she’s excited??!!  Without going into frustrating detail, Alex was finally able to join the Girl Scouts, and this was her first field trip with the troop.  It was the Bolinger Family’s first time going to an apple orchard!

Dsc_7822

So, we were giddy with excitement!

Dsc_7831

AND, giddy with an ornery zeal!

Dsc_7877

Yes, we have some ornery boys in the family – I was NOT the one behind the camera for this photo – ahem, Mr. Bolinger……!  Silly, gross boys!

Dsc_7896

I set my sights on this gorgeous Johna-Gold apple at the tip top of the tree…. it took a little bit of effort, but on tiptoes, and with arm outstretched, I got that apple!

Dsc_7915

I found lots of apples!  And, my sweet husband took some awesome pics at the orchard, so you can actually tell that I was present at a family function!

Dsc_7839

Looks like the handsome hubbs was having a good, apple-pickin’ time too!

Dsc_7929

A close-up view of some Georgia Black Apples – they weren’t ready for picking yet….. but apparently you can tell when they are ready because they turn such a dark shade that they look black – hence the name!

Dsc_7955

Are these apple blossoms??  They were on the apple tree, but I’m not sure what they’re purpose is?  I had someone ask what this is….  not sure…..  just know that it’s amazingly beautiful.

Dsc_7963

So, what to do with our Great Apple Harvest?  Well, we usually just eat apples raw.  These orchard apples were still pretty small and they’re quite tart.  Sounds like the perfect kind of apple for baking!   I’m not a big “pie person,” so my compromise is to make an apple pie/crumble dessert .

Dsc_7969

Coring and slicing apples aplenty!

Dsc_7977

Bowl full of apple slices – aren’t they so tiny and cute?!

Dsc_7978

Mixed with sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Dsc_7984

Sittin’ all delicious in the pie crust awaiting the crumble.

Dsc_7981

Crumbled successfully – ready for the oven.

Dsc_7993

Baked and bubblin’

Dsc_7997

YUMMO!!!!  I loved the apple filling – slightly tart but supremely sweet!  The crumble was amazing and added some crunch to the very tender apples.  And, with all of that flavor exuding itself, I hardly even noticed the pie crust, which is the part of the pie that I usually have a problem with, and which is also why I’m not much of a pie person.  I thoroughly enjoyed the pie/crumble dessert combination and would definitely make this with our next Great Apple Harvest!

Happy Autumn, everyone!  
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Apple Harvest

  1. Anonymous says:

    OMG! That apple crisp pie thing looks SO yummy!!! May need the recipe for that too!

Leave a Reply

