Photography Withdrawal

We are currently nine days into the New Year and I’m suffering from photography withdrawal –  haven’t really had anything to photograph since Christmas.  I took a couple of snaps at Girls’ Night the other evening, but they’re considered blackmail because the girls were eating somewhat unhealthy foods, which goes against everything that their New Year’s Resolutions stand for…. so I’ve been forbidden to post them anywhere!  

I took a couple of snaps at a birthday party last night for my 6-year old’s best friend’s birthday party, but Christian was uncooperative with the posing and the smiling – he was too busy playing video games and laser tag.  Although, I did enjoy this photo quite a bit:

Dsc_1346

A candid photo of Christian as he hurried around the corner looking for his laser tag nemesis!

And, so, to satisfy a photography craving, I decided to photograph my first craft project of the new year – it took many craft hours and a couple of prototypes before finally coming to fruition:  dah dah dah dah:  my new Kindle cover!!!!!

Dsc_1363

The Hubbs got me a Kindle for Christmas, which I LOVE because as many of you know, reading is a passion of mine (right up there with photography)!

Dsc_1366

It has also been recently discovered that reading on my Kindle, while also exercising on the elliptical, makes the time pass by much faster, hence that type of physical activity isn’t quite as torturous, as usual, to my out-of-shape self.  The Kindle props very nicely up against the informational screen on the elliptical and I don’t have to worry about losing my page, etc.!

Dsc_1367

Found some awesome coordinating fabrics at Hobby Lobby and started cutting, ironing, pinning, and sewing pieces together.  My first prototype had ribbons attached to “close” the book cover.  I was afraid however that ribbons would get dirty really quickly and fray…..  So, the next time around, sturdy velcro was added to a fabric strap as a closure.

Dsc_1368

Several things learned during this process:  1. Sewing is not a strong suit of mine…., 2. I get really frustrated with drawing, cutting, and measuring straight lines, and 3. I’m completely in love with the finished project because it’s homemade and I thoroughly enjoy homemade!

Now, I just have to revisit the idea of New Year’s Resolutions for a minute – has anyone else made diet/health/exercise related resolutions???  I try every year and fail every year, but that doesn’t mean that 2011 will be shown any neglect by my giving up.  I’m hoping to give my meal plan a makeover, eat at home more, drink less pop…….ugh……, and get on that elliptical several times each week.  Prayers and best wishes for all of you with resolutions!!!!  Stay motivated!  Have a great year!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photography Withdrawal

  1. Jessica Buchanan Houston says:

    So are you going to make Kindle covers to sell? I have a kindle that I got last year for Christmas and I love it but I have had to send it back twice because the screen quit working. I bought a plastic cover but I don’t like it! Let me know…

Leave a Reply

