Made from Scratch Marshmallows

I had so much fun in the kitchen today.  I’ve always wanted to try making marshmallows from scratch for a couple of reasons:  1. My kids LOVE marshmallows and 2. They look very pretty in pictures that I’ve seen online (I know that the 2nd reason may seem like a silly reason to make marshmallows, but being a hobbyist photographer, it just makes perfect sense!)   So, in honor of Valentine’s Day, a treat for my three little sweeties!

Gregg and I both enjoy watching “Good Eats” with Alton Brown on the Food Network.  I used his recipe to make these pillowy lovelies, which can be found here:   http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/homemade-marshmallows-recipe/index.html

Dsc_1942

Candy making can be an intimidating, finicky process…..  My Hubbs helped me with this process so that photographs could be taken along the way – I LOVE that man so much!  This is the making of a simple syrup boiled to just the right temperature.

Dsc_1944

And it is a BEAUTIFUL syrup!!!!!

Dsc_1947

Whisked immediately with unflavored gelatin and ice cold water – turns into a frothy sugary soup.

Dsc_1952

But, whisked for long enough, and you get this thick, creamy paste. 

Dsc_1955

Prepped these glass baking dishes to hold the marshmallow mixture while it rests for hours upon hours…..  I’m a very impatient, instant gratification personality, so I started playing with the marshmallows after about an hour, and they turned out just fine! 

Dsc_1959

I cut some of the marshmallows into cute little cubes for cute little fingers to pick up and nibble on.

Dsc_1958

And, then added some flair to the rest.  I honestly don’t care for the taste of marshmallows – this was purely a kid satisfying, photographic endeavor!  But, I, of course, had to give a “taste test” and OMG, these marshmallows are a sweet, pillowy mouthful of sugary goodness!  I love the extra dimension of flavor added by the chocolate and graham cracker crumbs.  The graham crackers are muted in flavor but give a nice texture to the dessert.  Next time, I will try using a ganache in place of the melted chocolate coating so that the chocolate doesn’t completely overpower the marshmallow (which was a concern to begin with, and is why only half of each marshmallow has been dunked), and I will attempt to find a way to infuse more graham cracker pizzazz.

It was intimidating going into the kitchen this afternoon because I assumed that the method for making marshmallows was beyond my grasp.  Alton Brown did an outstanding job with his “easy to follow” recipe, which I will most definitely use again!  Happy Marshmallow Making!
About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

