Back to Reality

My week in Maryland was absolutely wonderful!  It was a nice break from the day-to-day routine, and it was a fabulous way to become immersed in our nation’s history.  I was constantly amazed by the architecture, the monuments, and the art work that infiltrate to the core of Washington D.C.   I could probably write a novella about our various adventures walking around the city, or freezing fingertips at the beach, or perhaps being warned of the snipers atop the White House….  But, instead, I’ve opted to just post some of my favorite photos from the trip – with short and sweet captions!   

 

Dsc_2009

 Loved this bridge – took the photo from the car window on the way to Marge’s house.

Dsc_2054

Antiquing in Frederick was a lot of fun!  Here’s a picture of me wearing my new burnt orange glove/mittens (bought at Chic to Chic Boutique) – they saved my hands from freezing off during the rest of the week!

Dsc_2070

 Can’t take Marge anywhere….  Spilled her fake ice cream cone….  GREAT expression!  đŸ™‚

Dsc_2127

Sun setting on the beach in Delaware – GORGEOUS!

Dsc_2119

 Sara & her mama attempting to stay warm on the beach.

Dsc_2140

BFF’s 4 EVER – written in the sand!

Dsc_2184

Amazingly, there was a noticeable difference in temperature between standing on the beach versus standing close to the water (where these puffy birds were standing), but I boldly ventured down to the water’s edge to photograph said puffy birds – almost lost all of my fingers, but it was still worth it!

Dsc_2302

 Archway at Union Station

Dsc_2316

U.S. Capitol – for anyone wondering, yes, I did sing, “I’m just a bill, sittin’ here on Capitol Hill…”!!!

Dsc_2371

Dsc_2416

 U.S. Library of Congress

Dsc_2424

I really wanted to walk through here, but it was closed off to visitors…  This photo and the one below were taken through the glass.

Dsc_2429

Dsc_2441

Got a wide angle view of the Capitol Building from the Library of Congress across the street!

Dsc_2465

National Monument

Dsc_2488

World’s friendliest squirrels

Dsc_2516

 The Lincoln Memorial really caused me to pause and stare in awe.  The monument is massive and very detailed! 

Dsc_2542

Dsc_2599

 The White House

There were so many things to see and do – you really can’t experience it all in one week, but Sara and I did our best to crunch in as MUCH as possible!  We also visited the National Archives, National Museum of Crime and Punishment, Smithsonian of American History, and some other fun places.  For many of the locations visited, I wrote out a postcard for Gregg and the kids and mailed them in different locations throughout the city.  Funny enough, ALL of the postcards arrived in Wichita after I had already returned home.  It’s the thought that counts, right?!?  đŸ˜‰

I missed my Hubbs and my Three-bies, but everyone faired well with the week-long separation.  And, I would just like to give my Hubbs the highest caliber of “props” for playing full-time Mr. Mom  while I was gone!  He’s always great with the kids and the house anyway, so I wasn’t worried in the slightest, but he really did a great job keeping up with the household chores and the kids, as well as his full time job!  Thank you, baby!

Also, I would like to send out a HUGE thanks to my mom for coming over three days in a row to keep Christian preoccupied while Gregg was working and for helping out around the house!!!

And, last but not least, I cannot THANK the Good Girls, Sara and Marge enough for allowing me to spend the week with them – it was an unforgettable experience!!!

It has been a headache-filled week upon returning to reality with actual head aches….  Was it terrible jet lag?  Was it dehydration?  Perhaps a virus running rampant?  Today has been the first day since setting foot back in Wichita that I’ve felt normal.  I was able to get tons of laundry done today, dishes are caught up, the floors have been swept & mopped, carpets vacuumed – it’s incredible how much motivation has been restored simply because my head doesn’t feel like it’s caught in a medieval vise.

For all of you stuck in reality, I hope that you get to go somewhere fabulous for spring break!!!  Have a happy day!

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Reality

  1. Jessica Houston says:

    Hey girlie! LOVE all of the pictures from DC! Looks like you and Sara had a great time! Hey can you send me a text message so I can save your number to my phone? I need Sara’s number too! I had to exchange my phone and for some reason i have your home number but not your cell! As you have probably noticed I am taking a break from FB for lent… so I am really out of the loop without cell numbers! lol!

Leave a Reply

