Continually Crafting

Right at this moment, I am 100% relaxed, de-stressed, and at ease.  A HUGE thanks to the people who made that possible: my husband, Gregg for scheduling my massage and the massage therapist, Katia for doing such a wonderful job working out the knots in my shoulders and back….!  She asked if I have infants at home because of the way my body “hunches” it seems like I carry heavier objects on a regular basis.  I was like, “Well, I don’t have to carry my 10, 7, or 6-year old around anymore, but my camera is pretty heavy…!”  What I also loved about this masseuse was when she asked what I do for my full time job, and I answered, “Oh, I’m just a stay-at-home mom.”  Her eyes grew wide and she exclaimed, “That’s a very tough job!  Let’s get you taken care of!”

And, so now that I am riding high on waves of relaxation, I am once again playing “catch up” on my blog.  I’m hoping to be able to blog more over the summer without having to worry about school schedules and after-school activities.  The kids and I are supremely impatient for summer to get here now…  right now…  Which also makes me think that if you enjoy reading my blog, as sporadic as it is, please subscribe!  Hopefully, there will be more regular posts to read soon!

Ok, I have been crafting my little heart out!  I have already posted pics on my facebook page, but here’s a little background on the Ruffle Aprons.  Very simply, I saw a picture in a magazine of an apron made from a dish towel and thought, “Now, that’s a great idea for messy little cooks in the kitchen, like myself….!”  So, I went down to my craft nook and started cutting fabric until I had pieced together a fun, funky, and functional apron!!!

Dsc_5543

I am in love with these terrificly bright summer colors!

I’m sorry to report that I don’t have an actual, physical pattern to provide for others who want to attempt the project.  Maybe one of these days, I can put patterns and tutorials together, or I could host crafty classes in my basement – LOL!  ğŸ˜‰

Dsc_5740

Made some fabric covered notecards with the leftover fabric from the aprons, waste not, want not!  I’m using them for “end of the year” thank you notes to teachers, directors, etc.  

Dsc_5766

Had a craving for some Chewy Apple Oatmeal cookies yesterday.  Sometimes, people (not me) add raisins to their oatmeal cookies, others add chocolate chips (YES, that’s me!), and yet others add dried apples (we tried it this time around).  I like the flavor of apple and cinnamon in these cookies, but be warned, the apples do make the cookie CHEWY!  We will be making these again though – my youngest son, Christian LOVES them!  I have to make sure that Christian doesn’t gobble all of these up in one sitting….

Dsc_5768

What do you put in your oatmeal cookies?

Dsc_5772

AND, I’ve started working on the next Craft Hope project!!!!  Crafters around the world will be making bracelets (of any kind) to send to Russia for orphaned children.  This project is a very simple way to express your caring and concern for others who are less fortunate.  If anyone is interested in helping, please contact me or go to http://crafthope.com/  to get all of the information.  

I’ve decided to make wrap bracelets, which funny enough, require the use of needle and thread – can’t seem to get away from sewing notions these days!   I made two bracelets last night, so I think I’m getting the technique figured out.  Will make more this weekend and post photos ASAP!

The rest of my week has been immersed in domestic life – laundry, bathroom detail, dishes, dusting, etc.etc. along with some “end of the year” activities:  musical programs, awards ceremonies, etc.  I seriously ENJOY my life so much!!!!  Praises to the Lord who blesses me every day!

Dsc_4439

Alex was a pirate for her school program,

Dsc_5731

Ben was a “synergized” citizen of the USA,

And Christian’s program will be next week – it’s all about bugs…!

Dsc_5755

Awana has ended for the school year – Alex and Christian finished their handbooks! 

Dsc_5757
Dsc_5760

All three kids got participation awards and treat bags!  Ben went up to get his award and was gone in a FLASH…  It didn’t help that my camera battery was very quickly losing power, and I was sadly unprepared without a spare…  But, I treasure the blur that is Ben!  ğŸ™‚

I think that’s about it for now – you’re updated!  I’ve got some extra energy to burn, so it’s time to tackle more chores and make more bracelets!  Wishing all of you tons of energy and crafty-ness!!!

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

