Bracelets for Russia

Dsc_5817

We are in full swing, bracelet-making mode here at the Bolinger House!  I have set the beginning goal at 50 bracelets (of varying types); this goal can and probably will be increased, but I like to have a number to shoot for while crafting!  So, we have woven, hand sown, and beaded bracelets (in photo above) using an Irish waxed linen.  This is an intermediate level project, but so worth the time and effort!  I found a video tutorial online:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YLTHM8NzT0 which taught me the technique.  It was refreshing to be able to dig through my button stash for this project!!!  Haven’t played with buttons in a while….

Dsc_5823

And, here, we have some very simple pony beaded bracelets using stretchy string and a button accent for a finishing touch. Lace the stretchy string with beads (randomly or in a pattern), tie the ends together with a double knot and then secure a button with double knots before cutting off extra string.  I was trying to make these look more masculine for the boys, but I’m not sure…  What do you think?  Boy-ish enough?  Or back to the drawing board?

Dsc_5837

I’ve also been making bracelets in my current medium:  fabric!  These are braided fabric slip-on bracelets that work wonderfully for younger children because there are no choking hazards on them!  I actually wore two of these bracelets out to breakfast this morning – LOVE them!  

Dsc_5857

My darling daughter modeling the fabric bracelets!

Dsc_5783

This was the very first woven, hand sewn bracelet that I made.  Alex tried it on for me and wore it to school to test the durability of it, so she ended up getting to keep that one.  I made a duplicate to send to Russia.  I can see how excited Alex gets when another bracelet is created and added to the pile.  I hope that the orphans are even MORE excited to receive them and realize that there are people around the world who care for them.  I have plenty of beads if anyone is interested in making a bracelet or 5 or 10?!?

And, are you ready for one more cause?  Do you know of anyone who is affected by diabetes?  Someone you are related to, someone you are friends with, or maybe even you, yourself?  According to the American Diabetes Association:  Total: 25.8 million children and adults in the United States—8.3% of the population—have diabetes.  The Hubbs and I know many people who are affected by this disease; I even had gestational diabetes when I was pregnant with Christian.  Gregg is gearing up to ride in the Tour de Cure on May 21st to help raise funds toward finding a cure!  If you’d also like to help raise funds, please consider donating on Gregg’s fundraising page:  https://donations.diabetes.org/site/Donation2?idb=462737575&df_id=8391&am…

Thanks so much for reading!  Have a WONDERFUL day!!!

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

