Sewing Class: Zippers and Fabric

I have been playing with fabric for a few months now.  Making notecards, accessories, receiving blankets, etc.  But somehow, the idea of sewing a zipper onto fabric has continued to puzzle me….  HELP!  I found a local shop that gives sewing lessons and signed up!

I packed up my sewing machine and accoutrements this morning with a little bit of nervousness and a lot of excitement!

It was an interesting class, very informal, very unstructured…  but I did learn how to switch out my regular sewing foot for a zipper foot.  I’ve had this machine for a good 10 years and didn’t even realize that I owned a darn zipper foot….

And, I did learn how to insert a zipper!!!!!  Hallelujah!

After class, I couldn’t keep myself from browsing through all of the fabulous fabrics in the store.  I ended up buying a few Anthology prints and a couple of coordinating solids.  As soon as I stock up on zippers: watch out!  There will be cute little accessory bags everywhere!  😉

After my outing today, I’m trying to decide if my sewing equipment is mobile enough to spend the rest of the day on the back porch to enjoy the weather and to further break in the patio furniture?!?  Hmmmm….  Might give it a try!

Enjoy the rest of your day and don’t forget to subscribe to or bookmark my new blog location!  🙂

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing Class: Zippers and Fabric

  1. Jessi says:

    Love love love the fabric Candace!!! I will take one of those little zippered handbags you speak of! 🙂

  2. cjbolinger says:

    Isn’t it great, Jess? I absolutely love Anthology prints and Amy Butler too. Next time, I’ll have to get some of Amy’s prints. They’re a little pricey…. I’m still practicing on ideas for accessory bags and need to get some zippers ASAP! Will post some on my Ruffled Rose facebook page once I get it figured out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

