Pink Flamingo Surprise Party

Another year has gone by….  Don’t feel any older, don’t feel any wiser, but I do feel LOVED A LOT!  My BFF, my Adopted Sister, and my Hubbs planned, organized, and executed The Surprise Party of the Decade!

I was super EXCITED to see so many of my friends congregated in one place!!!!  “Candace B. Socializing” chatted the whole night away!  I LOVE ALL OF YOU!!!!!  And, I’m impressed, yet somewhat worried, that you were all able to keep such a big secret from me…!  😉

Pink flamingos were everywhere!!!  They were in the yard, on the walls, over the fireplace, on the sunglasses….  There were even some nesting around the food.  The BFF and the Hubbs had coordinated to have me out of the house for an entire evening so that the pink explosion could take place incognito!

Date night was extraordinary and supremely relaxing:   massages, dinner at sunset, and an evening at the bed & breakfast with my wonderful husband.  THANK YOU SO MUCH, BABY!!!!  I was already feeling exceedingly spoiled, and then to come home and be told that there was a surprise shindig taking place that night, I was overwhelmed and feeling completely, utterly spoiled rotten!  🙂

The BFF and Hubbs figured it was a safe bet to tell me about the surprise party earlier in the day so that my OCD tendencies could work themselves out before the guests arrived.  I will say, “You BOTH know me so well!”  Besides, if they’d tried to keep me out of my home for the entirety of Friday, I would have grown instantly suspicious.  SO, I was able to run around the house with my duster, vacuum cleaner, and pooper scooper (that last one being used in the back yard, OF COURSE!), and I was ready by 7:00pm.  It was nice to see that Sara had cracked the whip, while I was out, getting the kids to clean the entire basement!  NICE!

There was some spectacular luau food at the party including: a beach themed cake and cupcakes, roasted pig, veggies, and tons of fruit!

Reminiscent of my 18th birthday cake, the Beach Cake made a reappearance with more bells and whistles (flamingos, a GERB, a couple of islands, etc.)!  Created by none other than “Sara B. an Awesome Cake Decorator!”  It was the perfect centerpiece for the dessert table.

And, look at these adorable cupcakes made by “Jessi Martha Stewart!”  There are bears floating around in gummy inner tubes and others lying out on rainbow candy beach towels!  All of their faces and bathing suits painstakingly painted on – such dedication!

Jess also tackled this amazingly beautiful watermelon fruit bowl!!!  She insists that it’s easy to do, but just looking at the masterpiece it makes me wonder….

I had the best birthday EVER!  All of the good friends, good conversation, and good food even distracted me from the mandatory year tacked on to my age….  I was told that I was only allowed one HUGE blow out per decade, so I’m going to relish in this one for quite some time!  Thanks again to everyone for making this a pink flamingo birthday to remember!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

