Favorite Salsa Recipe?!?

So, today’s the first day of summer!  Although, it already feels like the middle of summer with all of the heat we’ve been surviving…  I was just out mowing the lawn, checking on my raised bed garden, and daydreaming about salsa.  My friend, Beck Speck, generously gave me some jalapenos from her garden last night, and I’ve had salsa on the brain ever since!

What’s my favorite salsa recipe?  Hmmm,  …oh wait, I don’t have one….!

When you’re making garden fresh salsa, you basically need the following ingredients:  tomatoes (roma or vine ripened or whatever tickles your taste buds), onions (white or red or green or whatever tickles your taste buds), hot peppers (jalapeno or poblano or habanero or you get my drift), cilantro (the one and only), salt, and juice from a lime.  Once you have these basic ingredients, start chopping and mixing until you have a sauce that pleases your palate.  There’s no wrong answer!

What are my preferences?  Well, I adore vine ripened tomatoes and will typically use them in my salsa.  Roma tomatoes have less liquid, which makes the chopping process a little less messy, so I’ll sometimes use those instead.  My salsa is heavy on the onions because I LOVE onions; sometimes the craving is for white onions, while other times, it’s for a milder green onion.  Jalapeno peppers are the only hot peppers that end up in my salsa, and they’re added in small amounts – my family is very sensitive to heat…  In addition to the cilantro, salt, and lime, I sometimes like to add garlic and red bell peppers to the mix!  Each time I make salsa, the batch is slightly different because I just don’t believe in a recipe for this particular food.

How to serve garden fresh salsa?  After chopping all of the ingredients, mix well and serve “chunky.”  Or, throw all of the chopped ingredients into a blender and pulse chop it until it is a uniform consistency.  Don’t over-blend!  After blending, I like to strain out some of the excess liquid.  Serve salsa with tortilla chips or as a garnish for your favorite mexican dish (quesadillas, tacos, etc.).  Happy Salsa Making/Tasting!


About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Favorite Salsa Recipe?!?

  1. abbie berning says:

    Yum you have such darn good recipes!!!!

Leave a Reply

