Travel Totes Finished!

Got a wild hair the other day to sew travel totes for the kids for our summer road trip.  I’ve been missing my sewing machine (unbelievably, haven’t had much time to craft this summer….) and I’ve been missing playing with fabric.  I need to be able to keep the kids busy and entertained for a 54-hour round trip, so I’ve been purchasing little things here and there (the dollar stores are great for finding notebooks, colored pencils, markers, card games, etc., etc.) that can be put in “travel kits,” which will be contained in the aforementioned totes.

I followed this online tutorial to make the totes:  http://www.skiptomylou.org/2009/07/17/how-to-make-a-simple-reversible-totebag/

Just made a few changes to the design with a different tote size and different straps, but I absolutely love the fact that this bag is seam-less and reversible!  I chose a travel-themed fabric for the exterior because it fits nicely with some of the activity worksheets, trivia books, and scouting requirements that we’ll be working on along the way (identifying states and their capitals – we’ll be traveling through plenty of states).  Then, I used a different color of broadcloth for the interior of each bag so that the kids will be able to easily identify their own (Ben=blue, Alex=pink, Christian=orange).

With the leftover fabric, I made matching pencil pouches to hold all of the colored pencils and markers.

The kids are really excited to fill the tote bags with some of their own toys, and I’m excited to fill them with some of my dollar stores purchases.  Hopefully, these homemade travel kits will keep the kids preoccupied for our imminent road trip adventure.  They’ll help, at the very least…  Wish us luck!  Happy Summer Traveling!

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel Totes Finished!

  1. abbie berning says:

    Cool bags!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

