Bolinger Family Road Trip – New England Aquarium

For our third and final day in Boston, it was time to visit the aquarium by the harbor: the New England Aquarium.

We all had high hopes, and I had high photographic expectations, for this aquarium.  We’ve only seen one other aquarium to this date – a fabulous aquatic display in Jenks, Oklahoma.

The New England Aquarium didn’t fully live up to those high expectations….  It was a neat place, don’t get me wrong, but I kind of expected more?  being that this aquarium is in Boston’s Harbor?  right there by the ocean?  This was definitely the place to be if you like penguins – there were penguin islands all over the place!

There were plenty of colorful tanks teeming with fish and various ecosystems to observe.

What there weren’t enough of…?  My personal aquarium fav….

SHARKS!!!!

They had a grand, whopping, two, count them, TWO sharks….

So, add to the fact, the sharks are underwhelming represented, and the fact that the aquarium is NOT friendly to low-vision individuals (like myself) – I was hobbling all over the place, and it was crowded, crowded, crowded, this was not one of my favorite sightseeing stops…

We did walk the curlicue all the way to the top of the acclaimed 60-foot fish tank and watched some divers feed the turtles and clean the tank.  I was hoping for some excitement – everybody chant with me, “Feed the sharks!  Feed the sharks!  Feed the sharks!”  No such luck….  And then a lady passed out on the floor….  I was NOT hoping for that sort of excitement…  She turned out to be fine, so nobody panic!

We ate some lunch in the aquarium cafeteria with a lovely view of the harbor.  I was busy looking out my window for sharks…  Too much?  Ok…..

And, after lunch, we went to pet the manta rays.

Christian, the fearless, jumped right in and pet as many mantas as he could!  This one was trying to give him a “high five!”

Ben was definitely curious, but oh so hesitant, just in case he were to get stung by a manta ray…  As soon as he touched one though, he got over his concerns and was ready to pet some more!

Alex and Gregg also pet the manta rays, but the room was quite crowded by this time, so I was unable to get any great pics of them.  And, not to be left out, I also pet a manta ray – they are wonderfully silky and slippery and very intuitive.  The mantas would swim low and then raise up to bump your hand before disappearing again.  Awesome creatures!

The aquarium visit only accounted for half of our day.  The other half wasplanned for a trolley tour of Boston’s numerous neighborhoods and historic gems.  That will have to wait for yet another day though.  Thanks for your patience as I continue to photo-journal our summer vacation!

Happy that I got to see sharks (two are better than none) and Happy to pet the Mantas at the New England Aquarium!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bolinger Family Road Trip – New England Aquarium

  1. abbie berning says:

    cool

Leave a Reply

