Attempted Explanation at an Antiquing Addiction

Antiquing can become such an addiction, especially for re-purposing fanatics!  How can I take something old and make it new?!?  

At the antique malls, some collections are just fun to look at,

while others inspire you to start a new collection of your own!  If these tea pots didn’t run approx. $30.00 a piece, I’d have teapots in my kitchen/dining room right now – I love them!

Some antiques are pink flamingoes….  that can be taken literally or figuratively, and you can do with it what you will…!

Certain items make you reminisce about “the way life used to be.”  I had an old typewriter when I was young (not quite as old as this one) but I do actually miss typing away on it…  Don’t miss the errors/corrections/starting over completely though!  Where’s my backspace button?  Delete, anyone?

Some things are uber cute like this spool organizer!  I know, I know, what is it with me and spool organizers?  Well, once you start sewing multiple projects at a time, only then will you understand the fascination and obsession…  This little gem was unfortunately uber over-priced…

There are some pieces that SCREAM, “Look at me!”  And, so, I stop and look!

You may find things that remind you of a friend….  I hope that Ann reads this blog entry!  This photo’s for you, Ann!

And many times, there are just collections of items begging to be photographed because they are visually appealing!

Then, there’s always the lightning strike when you see an item and know that it belongs in your home, which is what happened with this amazingly awesome blue metal shelf.  It’s pretty heavy and heavily rusted, but all it requires is a little bit of restoration and attention, and it will look magnificent in my craft room as an organizer!!!

For all of these reasons, and plenty more, I look forward to and thoroughly enjoy my excursions at the antique malls!  Can’t wait to go back again!

 

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

