For the LOVE of Windows….!

Years ago, my mama-in-law took an old window that was found in the attic of her daughter’s historic home, painted an impressionistic piece on it, and gave it back to her daughter as a birthday present.  Ever since that day, I have had a love for old windows, and hoped that eventually I’d get a window painting of my own!  When my family and I moved into our house last year, my mama-in-law asked what I’d like for a housewarming gift, and I immediately knew what I wanted!

So, Mama-in-law painted this gorgeous lotus flower/lily pad/pond scene on an old window that I’d found at an antique mall (add that as yet another reason why I enjoy browsing at the antique malls:  awesome windows)!  It hangs in my family room, as I type this, and I LOVE it!

And, now that I’m sufficiently crazy about windows and the creative ways that they may be re-purposed, what other pieces of window art will find their way onto the walls of my home?!?

I started working on a project a few days ago.  The idea had been festering after finding a cute little double-paned window at none other than an antique mall….!

This is a “before” picture of my window – I had already started taping off the glass when I realized that I hadn’t taken a “before” picture…  really need to get better about doing that.  I forgot to photograph “before’s” of several re-finishing projects that I’d worked on over the last year….

Anyhoo, the white window with well-worn brass hardware was ready for a transformation.  After taping off the glass, the white wood was painted more of an ivory to coordinate with my kitchen, which has varying shades of brown in it.  The bottom half of the glass received a chalkboard treatment, while the top half got a lovely fabric finish, and I left the well-worn brass hardware alone as it lends to the history and charm of the piece.

In the end, my kitchen acquired a sweet, little, cafe-style menu board!  And, I couldn’t be more pleased!  When the kids want to know, “What’s for dinner???”  I shall refer them to the window!  Happy Window Art!

 

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For the LOVE of Windows….!

  1. abbie berning says:

    Sazzy type o work I love it I can remember writing the menu on the not so fancy chalk board we had. So much fun I really like that window. Too cool. Sweetie

Leave a Reply

