Socks, Socks, and More Socks!!!

Autumn has arrived!  And with it comes deliciously cooler temps, the need for crockpot chili, and the desire to spend evenings out by the fire pit.  As I’m decorating the house for fall, with the windows wide open, I’m thinking of how thankful I am that we survived the boiling hot temperatures of summer this year, with little-to-no harm.  I had seasonal headaches for a few weeks, my garden was burnt to a crisp, and our family camping plans were ruined because our lake of choice had almost completely dried up…  But unfortunately, others around the country have had much bigger disasters to contend with.  With earthquakes, tornadoes, flooding, and wildfires running amuck, it was a pretty scary season…. and plenty of people have been affected.

So, does anyone wonder how socks could help to benefit a community in distress?  How can socks help to make a difference?

Craft Hope is an organization that allows for people to share their crafty talents for a cause.  The current cause, and the last cause of the year, is to help those who have been affected by the wildfires in Texas.  More specifically, we’re making sock monkeys for the kids in Texas who have lost all of their belongings.

I’ll be honest, I’ve never understood the fascination surrounding sock monkeys….        until just NOW!  The sock monkey (above) is my prototype, and I’ve already adopted him as part of the Bolinger Family!  Sock monkeys are sweet and cuddly and emanate this feeling of love.

Their long limbs are perfect for hugs around the neck!  The appeal of a sock monkey is AMAZING!  All of my kids are extremely interested and my husband has even grown attached to “Little Blue!”

All you need to make one monkey is:  1 pair of socks (I like to use knee high socks to get loooong limbs), poly-fill stuffing, embroidery floss to sew on facial features (ears and mouth), and buttons for the eyes.

I found clearance socks at Target.  You can also find socks at the dollar stores, Wal-Mart, etc.  You can buy embroidery floss by the skein for approx. $1.00 apiece or you can buy a value pack (photo above) at Michael’s craft store for $4.99.  Buttons can be found at the craft stores as well.  I bought a package of 5 white buttons and a package of 6 black buttons to layer the eyes for less than $1.50 per package.  Once you have these simple supplies, you can make a sock monkey for less than $5.00 per monkey.

I used this tutorial to learn how to make the monkeys:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kM9EhGSshCE

No, it’s not food.  No, it’s not money.  But there are other organizations helping out with those much needed things.  This is a unique kind of opportunity – if you are a crafty person and you’d like to use your craftiness for a good cause, then give this project a try!  Yes, it’s to make a child feel loved!  Yes, it’s to make a child smile!  It’s worth it!  Happy Sock Monkey Making!

Want more info?  Comment here or send me a message!

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Socks, Socks, and More Socks!!!

  1. Whitney says:

    I’m definitely going to make one of these! If it goes well I’ll whip out a few more to send. Can you send me the information I would need?

    • cjbolinger says:

      Yea, Whitney!!! This was my first time making a sock monkey – there’s a little more hand sewing than I expected, but this project is completely satisfying! All of the info is at http://www.crafthope.com, but they are having some malwear issues this week…. as soon as everything is back to normal though, we can get the shipping address for the monkeys and any other info we may need. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask!

  2. rae says:

    Candy you are an amazing example of God’s grace working through your hands. You are such an inspiration to me. Xoxo

  3. abbie berning says:

    Wonderful, sweetie you are an inspiration how clever are you thank you God for the talents you give to her and others, Like my mom, tito, chris, and everyone !!! Gods works are in ALL of us!!

Leave a Reply

