Friday Night at 8, Got Myself a Date….!

It’s Friday, which means it’s Yoga Day!  Got up early this morning, got the kids off to school, got dressed in my yogi wear, got in the car with the Hubbs, and headed to class.  Today was a great experience for several reasons: the class seemed to flow a lot more fluidly than usual.  Our instructor had us moving from one pose to another more quickly.  Usually, I’m left holding one pose for what feels like 10 minutes, which was probably really only 2 minutes; it was still a long time to be holding one pose (especially if you’re like me and have poor balance, then the trees, cacti, moon and many others are super challenging).

IMG_3111

I was also very excited about class today because my hips did NOT fall out of place!!!!  At almost every single class, in my yoga-attempting history, one or both of my hips decides to cramp up and cause me to “fall out of pose” – it’s really painful….  can’t move again until the hip pain subsides or falls back into place, which leaves me in the child’s pose all alone….  sniff…  Since I’m not really sure what’s going on with these hips of mine, I’ll just continue to use the terms, “fall out of” and “fall back into” place because that’s what it feels like.  I chatted with my certified yogi, sister-in-law, Crystal, and she gave me some pointers on how to adjust certain poses so that I’m accommodating my hips and not pushing too hard.  Seemed to work out very well today!

And, last but not least, another reason why I loved yoga today?  The Hubbs and I learned some new poses!!!  Bonus:  they felt sooooo nice stretching out the legs and back.  One of the poses, the dead bug, looked wildly inappropriate, but it was a wonderful stretch nonetheless.

IMG_3114

Hubbs suggested brunch this morning, which I agreed to, despite my lack of affinity for breakfast foods because I know how much my honey loves a restaurant breakfast.  Plus, he asked me out on a date tonight and I pretty much got to pick what we’re doing and where we’re going, so it really seemed only fair!  I tried a strawberry crepe that left a lot to be desired, which makes me wonder if I could make a crepe from scratch….???  I’ve never tried.  I’m adding that to my list of Attempts at Domesticity.

And that’s when my day took a turn for the boring…

grocery run

laundry

sweeping/mopping

vacuuming

BUT, then, it was finally time to get ready for date night!!!  WOO HOO!!!  I grabbed the new black & gray striped skirt that I bought in Boston and built an outfit around it.  The best-est BFF came over to watch the Threebies, and then the Hubbs and I stepped out on the town.

IMG_3133

We were really excited to try out a new to the west side of town restaurant, Ciao Italian Kitchen.

IMG_3135

I ordered the Chicken & Shrimp Milanese, which had pan seared meat in a savory sauce served over pasta and spinach.  Gregg ordered the Lemincello Chicken, which had a really tangy citrus sauce that saturated the chicken, mushrooms, and potatoes.  Both were wonderfully tasty!  We would definitely go back!

IMG_3141Chicken & Shrimp Milanese

After dinner, we went to the Warren to watch….

IMG_3142It was dark.  It was violent.  It was an interesting storyline based on the tale of Hansel & Gretel where the kids are now all grown up and they’re witch hunters.  The Hubbs and I enjoyed it – we’re calling it our “guilty pleasure” movie.  Will it win any awards?  No, but it was entertaining!

IMG_3145Gregg got this great picture in the theater – I LOVE it!

And, so concludes a busy Friday full of fun!  Time to finish up with this blog post and get some sleep.  Who knows what Saturday will bring?!?  Probably lots of wrangling of the kids and their messes….

Happy Date Night!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

