Valentine Central

Today, the Bolinger House has become a valentine-making headquarters a.k.a Valentine Central!!!

IMG_3471

Valentine’s Day is next Thursday, already….

IMG_3468

For Alex:  I found this super cute valentine maze at the following link:  http://www.balancinghome.com/2013/01/valentine-printable-for-the-little-ones.html

IMG_3473

Yes, mine do look different, not nearly as cute…  but we’re out of colored ink in the printer (and we’re on a really tight budget).  So, the mazes have been printed in gray-scale.  I think that the pencils add a little pop of color?!?  Works for us!

iphone photos 2013For Christian:  I had these little monsters on-hand (purchased at Wal-mart in bags – 12 monsters for $1.00) – was going to use them for a different project in January, but ended going a different route.  So, I had the little monsters…  and needed a valentine to go with them.  I used a program on my Mac (called Pages, much like Word on a Windows machine) to make a rectangle with rounded edges, used marker felt font and came up with the tag line – I like you so much….  It’s SCARY!!!  Duplicated the valentine so that there were four per page and then printed.

IMG_3494Christian really seemed to like them!  He even got to play with an extra monster this afternoon.  What’s not to like?

Our valentines are plain and simple and get the job done.  I feel really good about using materials that I had on-hand.   And, I’m happy that I did NOT break down and buy color ink cartridges!  So expensive….

Economical Status:  24 pencils – $2.00 Wal-mart, 24 monsters – $2.00 Wal-mart, cost of ink for printing (have no idea, but ended up printing a total of 12 pages altogether) = reasonably priced, sugar-free valentines for the kiddos!

IMG_3509

 

Ooops, almost forgot to mention the teachers…  can’t forget to give the teachers a valentine!  I made a batch of Love Spell bath fizzies as part of a thank you gift for some friends (more on that gift in a later post).  I divided up the extra fizzies to give to the teachers.  One fizzy, in a full bathtub, will release skin softening oils, effervescing salts, and a big punch of fragrance for a relaxing bath after a long day.  I hope they enjoy!

Happy Valentines-Making Day!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

