Baby Burp Cloths

I haven’t needed baby burp clothes for many years now, with a 12-year old, 9-year old, and 8-year old…  we are past that stage, past those days.  But I sewed up some burp cloths the other day because our next door neighbors just had their brand, new baby!!!

Exports 20134I am well past the baby stage – do NOT want any more babies (just being honest)!  I will, of course, celebrate someone else having a baby though!  😉

I bought some white, cloth diapers from Target.  Found some cute coordinating fabrics – there are 4 all-together (zoo animals with white background, zoo animals with brown background, orange giraffe print, and brown with white polka dots).  I cut the coordinating fabrics so that they would cover the entire middle section of each white cloth diaper.  I made sure to measure an extra 1/4 inch on each side of my fabric rectangle so that the edge could be folded over for a nice finished look.

IMG_3558

And, I don’t want to forget to mention the card.  Isn’t it strange that we immediately expect to add a card to a gift?  It’s always the very last thing that I think about.  But take my mother, for example, that would be the very first thing that she thinks about.  I took some extra fabric and fused it to a plain white notecard.  It matches.  Anything can be written inside.  Card?  Check!

This could definitely work as a gender neutral gift.  Though, we know that the baby next door is a BOY!  I was really motivated to get these little pups all wrapped up so that they could be gifted this weekend, and so, neglected to take before photos to show what they actually look like….  By the time I got them all rolled up, wired shut, and ribbon-tied together, there was just no undoing all of that work….  But trust me, they’re super cute!

Baby Brecken had just gotten home from a loud, boisterous afternoon at an elementary school sporting event, so he was red-faced and crying…..  but he still looked really cute with his scrunched up face, little fists pumping, and little legs stuck out straight!  Oh, how I DO remember those days!

A couple more things:

Tried a new recipe for Sweet & Sour Chicken and thoroughly enjoyed it!      Link for that:  http://madeitateitlovedit.blogspot.com/2012/03/sweet-and-sour-chicken.html

I browned my chicken for several minutes on each side so that there was a slightly brown crust on both sides, but the chicken was most obviously not cooked through.  The cooking process finishes in the oven, which I found to be right at 15 minutes (not 30 min) to give a very tender, well cooked bite.  I stirred the pieces around in the sauce to cover them completely and served over arborio rice and steamed veggies (broccoli, carrots, and bell peppers).  It’s a winner!

IMG_3520

Sweet & Sour Yummy-ness

And, lastly, the Hubbs, Oldest Son, and I were battling ancient alien beings this afternoon playing Elder Sign.

IMG_3586

It can get quite complicated with all of the investigations, trophies, monsters, elder signs, and of course, the ever nerve-wracking clock that you have to race against…

IMG_3583

This card (above) held us up for more than half the game for various reasons.  Basically, by the time we finally resolved this card and started to pick up some momentum:

IMG_3580This ancient one awoke.  And unfortunately, that was all she wrote….  because we were unable to do battle or defend ourselves.  Azathoth had absolute destruction – the game ended, we lost.  The Bolingers will continue to fight ancient aliens as we try to protect planet Earth.  Hopefully, next time I’ll be able to post a victory!

After a mentally draining day of table top board games, it is time to call it a night.  Next time, we’re talking soap, ladies and gents!  Don’t miss it!

Happy Even Though We Didn’t Win at Elder Sign….!!!!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

