Blogging Station Renovation

I usually get hand-me-down technology from the Hubbs – I’ve had an old laptop of his for years now that I’ve used for all of my computing needs.  I regret to inform that my laptop is very close to dying….  It has been hanging on by a thread for months….  My favorite thing is when it overheats and burns my legs, then unexpectedly shuts itself off without any warning.  It has become unreliable for photo uploading, editing, and storing purposes.  Soooo, I have inherited a new-to-me desktop computer from the Hubbs for my photography and blogging needs.  The desktop is pretty awesome (though it’s not portable and doesn’t fit nicely on my lap) but it is reliable and in perfect working order.

Next Issue?  Where to put it.  The obvious answer was in the master bedroom because our family has already outgrown the house that we live in and there really isn’t any other place for it…  My bedroom is packed with lots of bulky, old furniture – I admit to feeling like a sardine in a can sometimes…  and now I’m trying to fit a computer in there, which will also require a piece of furniture to set it on.  The Hubbs and I have been in serious discussions about ways to de-clutter, rearrange, and open up the room – I’ll keep you posted as to how that goes!

Currently, however, I’ve been on the hunt for a compact, inexpensive desk at the thrift stores.  And this is what I found:

IMG_3604

For a whopping $7.00

It has some normal wear and tear i.e. scratching on the top and also scratching where the keyboard/mouse are supposed to go.  There is a piece of black lamination (edging) missing from the bottom.  But otherwise, the desk is sturdy, it’s compact, it was crazily inexpensive.

I sense a renovation project coming up!  What is an easy way to spruce up an ugly, ahem, sorry, slightly less than attractive piece of furniture?  First thoughts involve spray paint!  Second thoughts involve adding some visual interest so that the whole desk isn’t boring black.  Right off the bat, I bought a can of glossy black spray paint for retouching.  Then, I looked through the scrapbook papers at Michael’s and found a lovely black & white damask print that I thought would most definitely add interest and femininity to the work station.

First things first, I had to sand my surfaces.  Sanding helps loosen any unwanted gunk and scratches grooves onto the surface.  Those grooves will help hold the new paint.  When the sanding process is finished, I wipe down the entire desk making sure that the surfaces are clean.  Since this desk was already black, and I just wanted to freshen up the finish, I did not use a primer first…  Many painters will tell you to always use a primer first.  Some projects I do, some projects I don’t…  This project, I did not.

IMG_3610

You see the bottom part of this desk where the edging is missing?  That was my initial focus.  I taped off the metal bars of the desk with trash bags (didn’t have any drop cloths on hand).  I sprayed the entire perimeter of the desk so that it’s all glossy black and purty.  The keyboard/mouse stand and bottom portion of the desk each got a couple coats of glossy black spray paint as well, just to freshen it up and make it look new again!

IMG_3616

Once the paint was dry, I brought the desk back into the house where it’s nice and warm.  My poor hands were freezing cold from working in the garage.  Leave it to me to spray paint, in the garage, in the middle of winter, at 30 degrees…..  Brrrrr!

The top of my desk was ready for a makeover.  This is where my lovely scrapbook paper comes into play.  I painted the top with a decent layer of mod podge – working in segments and matching the pattern between sheets of scrapbook paper, I laid the scrapbook paper down scraping out any air bubbles and trying not to crease my paper in the process.  Then, I had to be very patient to let it dry thoroughly!

Once it’s completely dry, it’s time to paint several layers of mod podge on top of the scrapbook paper, letting each layer dry before applying the next.  The final step for this project was to paint on a coat of clear polyurethane.  I don’t want to be able to easily scratch off the new coat of spray paint or damage my cool mod podged surface.

And we get this finished product:

IMG_3731

IMG_3763

IMG_3744

Now, I can get back to blogging!  And, I’m totally enamored with my updated work station!  Happy, happy, joy, joy – Have a great Monday, friends!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging Station Renovation

  1. betterafter says:

    SO cute! You did a great job Candace! I love the damask, it looks like it belonged there all along!

Leave a Reply

