Baby Bibs for China

DSC_7655

The BFF, Sara, guessed it right, yesterday!  The newest craft project is:  Baby Bibs!!!  And more specifically, Baby Bibs for China!!!

Craft Hope has announced Project 20: Hope for China.  Straight from their website, http://www.crafthope.com, “There are an estimated 145 million orphans in our world.  Nearly 3/5 of those orphans live in Asia. Sixty percent of the children in Chinese orphanages are children with special needs.”  Craft Hope is coordinating with the New Hope Foundation to provide homemade bibs to the Foundation’s orphanages, to show some love to those sweet little babes.

What do you need to make a bib?

  • fabric for the front and back
  • thread
  • sewing machine or super awesome hand-sewing abilities  😉
  • velcro or snaps

That’s it!  Super easy!  I’m going to take you on a little photo tutorial for the bibs that I’ve started making.

DSC_7596Choose 1 or 2 fabrics for the front of the bib.  For this example, I have chosen two.  I wash the fabrics first so that any shrinking takes place before sewing.  I usually wash on warm, delicate cycle, no detergent (some babies have sensitive skin).

DSC_7599Find a bib pattern that you like online.  Craft Hope has provided a link on their website for over 50 different designs.  I went with the template over at:           http://www.purlbee.com/liberty-bibs/                                                                                         I just tweaked it a little bit because, while I liked the general shape, I wanted an overall bigger, longer bib.

Make sure that there is enough fabric for a top half and bottom half.  As you can see in the photo above, I have two rectangles of fabric just the right size to fit my pattern.  I sewed those two rectangles together by putting the right sides together, wrong sides facing out, and sewing a zig zag seam straight down the center.

DSC_7601After I sewed the two pieces of fabric together, I turned the piece over and sewed a straight line over the connecting seam.  This gives the bib a more finished look in the end!

DSC_7605

Next, I put my piece of fabric on top of the material that I wanted to use for the back of the bib.  You can use terry cloth, minky, flannel, or fleece.  I chose fleece because it’s wonderfully soft and super economical.  When placing the pieces of fabric together make sure the wrong sides are facing out, right sides are facing together.  And, pin the bib pattern on the very top – there should be a three-layered sandwich pinned together at this point.

DSC_7608I cut around the pattern so that I ended up with two cut pieces of fabric that are starting to look a little like the front and back of a bib.

DSC_7616Keeping the wrong sides facing out and the right sides facing in, I sewed the two pieces together by going all along the edge with a zig zag stitch.  Very Important:  must make sure to leave an opening (a couple of inches in length) in order to be able to turn the bib right side out!!!

DSC_7620Turned the bib right side out and smoothed it down.  It’s time to sew a straight stitch (1/4″) all the way around the bib, including closing up the aforementioned opening.

DSC_7629Finishing step was to attach either velcro or a snap, some type of closure, so that the bib will stay put.  I used velcro because it gives a little growing room for the babes.

This project brings warm fuzzies to the bibs, hopefully to the babies, and also to my heart!  If you would like to contribute, please check out all of the information listed at http://www.crafthope.com under Project 20: Hope for China.  The deadline for this project is April 1st – there’s plenty of time to get sewing!!!

Bibs may be sent to:

Craft Hope                                                                                                                                        c/o Carin Vogelzang                                                                                                                      630 Griswold SE                                                                                                                       Grand Rapids, MI 49507

If you sew up some bibs, please share by emailing pics!  I’ll showcase them in a future blog entry!  If you have any questions, please ask here or send me a message!

Happy Sewing Baby Bibs for China!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Bibs for China

  1. abbie berning says:

    Lucky babes the bibs are soooooooooooooooo cute and the matetiral is so cute proud of ya cj

Leave a Reply

