Celebrating Snow Days

Wow!  I’m still in shock…  We have had two SNOW DAYS in Wichita!  The kids were beyond ecstatic to see snow falling, and to see it actually sticking to the ground. Of course, they were also super excited that school had been canceled too!

DSC_7804Look at our neighborhood – it’s a winter wonderland!  And, I was just getting  geared up for spring (started spring cleaning and everything)….  Time to shift from spring cleaning mode back to a winter fun mindset instead!

IMG_3814

The Hubbs made all of these snowballs, hid them in a wagon in the driveway, and waited patiently for the kids to get home from school.  He was ready to pelt them with snowballs as soon as they got off the bus!  And that’s how it all began…

DSC_7743

There were ongoing snowball fights…

DSC_7684

Plenty of snowballs being made…  This one actually looks like a heart – how sweet!  Do you see it?

DSC_7750

We saw Snow Angels…

DSC_7699

Snowmen…

DSC_7707

More snowballs…

DSC_7756

Inner-tube sledding…

DSC_7816

Belly sledding (like penguins)…

DSC_7801

Snowflake chasing…

DSC_7812

Hiding behind the snowfort…

Thankfully, the snow was enough to keep the kids preoccupied and happy on Thurs. and Fri.  Plenty of neighborhood kids were out enjoying the winter weather as well; it was nice to hear all of their gleeful squeals as they played together!

I have never had a love affair with the snow, or the cold weather, or the winter season at.  all.  period.  It is not something that I look forward to or enjoy.  So, while the kids were outside being kids, and that includes the Hubbs….  🙂    I was inside all toasty warm baking cinnamon rolls and making chicken noodle soup.

IMG_3830

These are a little labor intensive, but so worth the effort!!!  My fave cinnamon roll recipe comes from:  http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/recipe-for-cinnamon-rolls/      I like this recipe because it gives the basic recipe and technique, but still allows for some wiggle room with the amounts for the filling and icing.  I like a lot of cinnamon, a lot of brown sugar, but only a little bit of butter.  And, so, I spread, dash, and sprinkle ingredients onto the rolled out dough until it looks just right!

For the icing, I mix:  2 cups powdered sugar, 3 TBL melted butter, 3 TBL milk, 1 tsp vanilla (if you don’t already have a favorite recipe).

DSC_7760

This is the spice mix that I use for my chicken noodle soup – I think it’s just lovely!  It’s also very tasty!  I use 1 1/2 TBL chicken bouillon granules, 1 bay leaf, 1/2 tsp dill weed, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp celery seed, 1/8 tsp garlic powder, dash of black pepper boiled in 7 cups of water.  Add fresh veggies and pasta, boiling for 15-20 minutes.  You can add chicken if you’d like.  We prefer not to.  We like the chicken broth with veggies and pasta only.

DSC_7768

And here is the finished soup – YUMMY!  There is broth in there!  I just wanted to show off the loveliness of the other ingredients for this pic.

And, now it’s time for an update on Project:  Baby Bibs for China

So far, the bib project has been going along marvelously.  Being snowed in for two days was the perfect excuse to sit and sew by the fireplace, which is exactly what I did.  It took a while to sort through my fabric scrap bins, but all of the scraps have been sorted and I’ve sewed up a total of 20 bibs so far.  I’d like to share a couple of variations on the bibs.  Once you’re feeling comfortable with the basic pattern and design, consider adding a third layer of fabric to the front like this:

DSC_7834

Or consider adding one of my personal favorite accents of all-time:  A RUFFLE!!!

Exports 20137

DSC_7827

And go for the fabrics that may not be traditional because they’ll look awesome and unique and boutique.  I’m nowhere near ready to have grandchildren, but I’m thinking about future sewing possibilities someday (a long, long time from now…)!  😉

DSC_7836

The two bibs (above) speak to me because of the tres gorgeous color combo, with none other than, a splash of ORANGE!  Love it!

The Bolinger’s got a lot accomplished over the unexpected 4-day weekend.  I have a ton of “snow day laundry,” dirty dishes, and fabric remnant piles to show for it…  Moms, you know what I’m talking about with the laundry – the wadded up, wet jeans, shirts, socks, and gloves.  There are coats and boots strategically placed around all entrances to the house.  But at least everyone had a great time!

DSC_7825

This is Sheer Snow Day Joy on Little One’s Face!  Happy Snow Days!!!!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

