For the Love of Homemade Marshmallows

By far, one of my most popular, most read blog posts is called Made from Scratch Marshmallows from February 2011.  With all of the cold weather and the snow storms, I’m feeling like drinking some chocolatey hot chocolate with marshmallows!  And, I think it’s about time to re-imagine the idea of homemade marshmallows in a brand new blog post….

DSC_7925

Pillowy, Puffy, Powdered Marshmallows

It still amazes me that ingredients like sugar, water, corn syrup, and gelatin, mixed together in the correct amounts, at the appropriate temperatures, can produce these lovely, confectionary pillows.

DSC_7842This is my mixture of water, sugar, light corn syrup, and a little bit of salt – all at room temperature.  It’s about this time that I start singing, “Who can take a sunrise, sprinkle it with dew, cover it in chocolate and a miracle or two?”

DSC_7859

Once it starts heating up slowly (medium-low) the mixture starts to boil producing beautiful candy syrup bubbles!  “The candy man can!  The candy man can cuz he mixes it with love and makes the world taste good.”

DSC_7867

With candy-making, the timing and temperature are very important!!!  I’ve heated the mixture slowly and it’s stalling at 220 degrees Fahrenheit   I need for it to heat up to 240 degrees, so I turned the heat up to medium and then watch it like a hawk!  All the while, I’m singing, “Willy Wonka makes, everything he bakes, satisfying and delicious.  Talk about your childhood wishes, you can even eat the dishes!”

DSC_7876

Once we get the mixture heated to 240 degrees, we pour it slowly into a gelatin-water combination that awaits in my mixing bowl.  Start mixing on a low speed for a few minutes, but then kick ‘er up to high gear.  “Who can take tomorrow, dip it in a dream, separate the sorrow and collect up all the cream?”

DSC_7892

This is what we’re looking for after 10-12 minutes (approximately).  It looks and feels like marshmallow cream.  A little happy dance ensues.  The singing continues.  The kids are oblivious because this is how we roll in this household…  “Who can take a rainbow, wrap it in a sigh, soak it in the sun and make a strawberry lemon pie?”

DSC_7903

“The candy man can!”  It’s snowy, white, creamy perfection!  At this point, comes a little bit of re-imagining:  I separated the marshmallow cream into two batches.  The first batch received 1 tsp vanilla while the second batch got 1/4 tsp super strength strawberry flavor oil.  You can buy flavor oils at Hobby Lobby or at baking specialty stores.  So, I should end up with strawberry marshmallows for snacking and vanilla marshmallows for the hot chocolate!

BTW, the marsh cream is extremely sticky, sticky, STICKY!  Using water coated hands/water coated implements to remove the marshmallow cream from the bowl and into glass dishes (either a coated 13×9″ or two coated 8×8″) seems to be the easiest way to accomplish this harrowing task, which is the least pleasant part of making marshmallows.  Seriously, you’ll think to yourself, “How am I going to get all of this sticky mess off of my dishes, hands, clothes, and countertops???”  But, it really does disintegrate pretty easily with warm water and dish soap!  Do not get discouraged!  Continue on!

DSC_7910

 Maneuver the stickiness into foiled, coated baking dishes.  And now, it’s time to be very patient for a few hours.  No poking, no prodding, just let it sit!

DSC_7949

These marshmallows sat for almost 4 hours.  It was really easy to peel the puffy slab away from the foil.  I coated my countertop and knife with powdered sugar and got to chopping.  Look at these cute little misshapen delights!

DSC_7928

You can cut these marshmallows into any shape that you’d like.  I really wish that I had a snowflake cookie cutter (it’s on my shopping list now) because these would’ve made really cute snowflakes for our hot chocolate….  Instead, I have some great strawberry flavored, heart-shaped mallows and good, old, rudimentary cubed mallows.

DSC_7972

How do you serve up your hot chocolate?!?  I like to get my beverage all hot & steamy, and then serve it up with mini choco-chips and, of course, the marshmallows!  

DSC_7969

And, so, we have a sweet treat to drink while we enjoy our Wichita Winter Wonderland!

A special thanks goes to Lorann Oils for their marshmallow recipe.

I’ve also used Alton Brown’s recipe in the past, but don’t like the taste of cornstarch on my mallows, so I just omit it from Brown’s recipe.  Essentially, both of these recipes will give you the same result – a tasty marshmallow!

Thanks also to Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory for the song, the inspiration, and the motivation to make mallows on a cold, blizzard-esque day…!  ;D

Happy Marshmallow Making!!!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For the Love of Homemade Marshmallows

  1. ohh! This looks great! Definitely going to make this myself!

  2. abbie berning says:

    II mocopied of the recipe thanks gonna try them dont know when yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! love

Leave a Reply

