Getting Geeky with Tabletop Games

There are many ideas revolving around the word geek.  Whether you are thinking of positive attributes right now or negative ones, I prefer to look at geeky-ness as something positive and cool!  Wikipedia gives a definition:  a slang term for odd or non-mainstream people, with different connotations ranging from “a computer expert or enthusiast” to “a person heavily interested in a hobby.”  So, I guess that about covers the Bolinger family… we are very enthusiastic and heavily interested in many different things.  One of our favorite past times is playing board games; always on the hunt for fun tabletop games to play.  IMG_3887The Hubbs took me on a field trip this afternoon to Wizards Asylum Comics & Games.  It was my turn to choose a board game to add to our collection and I’ve been keeping a list!

IMG_3886The symbol in the window is how I knew that this store was a safe haven to those of a geeky-nature…!

IMG_3890The Asylum was filled mostly with comics and only a small smattering of board games.  I wanted to walk around the comic book bins with Gregg, leafing through comics, and pretending to be characters from the Big Bang Theory…!  Can anyone with empathize with me?!?  Anyone?!?

IMG_3888Truthfully, comic books are not really my thing…  I can appreciate all of the hard work that goes into illustrating them though.  Take a look at all of these graphic novels, on the other hand; I love to read, so I’d probably enjoy reading some of these!

IMG_3889As I stood there staring at the Game of Thrones comics, (Hubbs and I enjoy this HBO series), “No!”  I said it out loud, in the store, “No!”  We do NOT need any more interests or hobbies.  We are here to look at board games!  Need to find the board games…

IMG_3885After walking away from the comic book side, we wandered into the store’s cozy, board game alcove.  Right there, on the shelf, was the numero uno game on my list:  Mansions of Madness!  This game will hopefully be like the game of Clue, which is an all time favorite game from my childhood.  I’m hoping that Mansions will be an in-depth, grown up immersion into the investigatory role of a detective maneuvering through a spooky mansion, a.k.a. Clue on Steroids.  I’ll keep you posted as to whether or not these expectations are realized.  Wish us luck, the game was challenging just sorting out ALL of the many, many game pieces this evening…  ;D

Wizards Asylum Comics & Games was a fun visit!  I was looking for more games, less comics, but the customer service was friendly and helpful.  The Hubbs really likes to support local businesses, as do I, so it’s nice to find niche places around town that cater to some of our awesome geeky hobbies.  I’m sure that we’ll find our way back there again.

Last tidbit for the day:  Whil Wheaton’s tabletop gaming web site –  Geek and Sundry is advertising and trying to promote a National Day of Tabletop Game Playing.  On March 30th, board game geeks, including the Bolinger’s, will unite and spend the entire day playing board games!  Check out TableTopDay.com for more details and think about joining in the fun!

Happy Board Game Playing!!!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

