Walking around the Antique Mall

IMG_3957One of my favorite places to be on a chilly, winter afternoon is the antique mall.  Who am I kidding?  I love the antique mall in every season….!  It’s fun to walk around and look at all of the history that has been collected in the various booths, and some of the junk too….  I’d be remiss if I didn’t qualify that some of the collected items do not fit what I would consider antique status.  

IMG_3959

Some booths specialize in old books, others in rustic furniture, and even others in jewelry, dishes, kitchen gadgets, etc.  There are booths that are just super pretty to look at!  The photo above, and the one below, are two of my must visit” booths because they are usually very aesthetically pleasing.

IMG_3950Sometimes, my trip to the antique mall may be just to look around, sometimes it’s made specifically for a photo walk, and other times, I’m looking for something I’d like to purchase.  On this particular excursion, I was there for all three reasons.

IMG_3952Fun colors for a fun display!  Love the turquoise, red, and white color scheme.  I want the fan and also want the amazing display shelf!

IMG_3958Kitchen utensils aplenty…  wooden spoon or cookie cutter, anyone?

IMG_3947This booth, in its entirety, has a ton of really neat kitchen gadgets.  This photo only showcases one side of the antique gadget collection – will have to photograph more of this booth on another visit.

IMG_3948I’m still in love with tiny compartments and drawers, so this display/storage cabinet speaks to me!  In a previous post, Antiquing with the BFFI photographed an awesome, old filing drawer with lots and lots of little drawers with brass pulls.

IMG_3949

Really liking the rustic look of this dog biscuit tin!

IMG_3951Took this photo for my shiny silver collector friendsyou know who you are!

IMG_3956

And, I was finally starting to get a little closer to finding an item that I needed to purchase; on the hunt for unique mason jars.  I stumbled upon this mason jar complete with a smattering of buttons.  At one time, I was on the hunt for antique buttons as well (to make jewelry).  Check out my blog post:  Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button for the run-down on that obsession….!  Anyway, today I just need the mason jars, not the buttons….  So, I continued on and eventually found just what I was looking for:  two perfect-for-my-project mason jars.  Photos and details to come in my next blog post!

Until then, I hope that everyone has a fabulous Monday!  Got my Monday dose of cycle at the Y, and a healthy dose of 80’s music in the car!  Getting ready to eat some lunch with the Hubbs!  So far, so good!

Happy to walk around, photograph, and purchase old things at the antique mall!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

