Double Post Friday

I wanted to post my mason jar project today, but also wanted to give photo updates for the week, so it’s a Double Post Friday, with much ado, like the acclaimed double rainbows that people always gets so excited about…!  IMG_4055I’m still buried under piles of fabric for baby bibs….  and I’m still thoroughly enjoying it!  My personal goal for bibs went from 30 to 50, thanks to unexpected bib sales, that helped me to purchase more fabric!!!  A big thanks to those who have supported me, have supported handmade, and have supported this project – more bibs for babies in China!  Hoo-ray!

IMG_4077I’ve also been zig zag sewing around these fleeces circles.  Caution: consistent sewing ’round and ’round in circles may bring one to the brink of dizziness …  just kidding!  These circles are a project from a ladies ministry event at church.  They will go to the local hospitals and be handed out to mothers who have babies in incubators.  The fleece circle is placed on the mother’s body for many hours so that it carries her scent.  The circle is then placed in the incubator with the baby as a way for the baby to feel safe and bond with mommy.  Warms the heart!

I didn’t realize that this was a need in the hospitals.  All it takes is some fleece, some volunteers willing to cut out circles, and some simple zig zag stitching around the edges.  I love this kind of project and would be interested to know if there are any others out there that would benefit the communities in Wichita?  If you know of any, please let me know!

IMG_4048This is a photo of my shoes at the Y…  I can’t really get any more energetic or excited about my workouts this week than to just post this pic.  I met a friend of mine yesterday for some friendly exercise and chatting, but she ended up torturing me with new weights machines and a ball exercise from Hades…  I am sore today…  Moving on…

IMG_4042

This was my lunch earlier in the week and I just wanted to post a picture because I think it’s gorgeous and very delicious:  pad thai – of the homemade-type-nature (as my Hubbs would call it)!  And I’ll admit that I could eat this EVERY day…

IMG_4059

Since I posted a main dish, how could I not post a dessert?  Inspired by the Girl Scout cookie, Lemonades, and after eating all of my supply of those cookies (which really hurt my waist-line, dear daughter, Alex) I made a lemonade cake using this recipe:  http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/lemonade-layer-cake-10000000249959/

IMG_4090

Instead of making a layered cake however, I made cupcakes because the oldest son and I adore cupcakes.  Last summer, he made all kinds of fun cupcakes from scratch, which included cinnamon-ginger, s’mores, and pancake cupcakes!  He’s quite a little baker!  His goal this summer is to have a cupcake sales stand in lieu of a lemonade stand.  And, maybe he could serve lemonade cupcakes at his stand?!?  Also, instead of making a cream cheese frosting, I used my regular buttercreme frosting recipe adding fresh lemon juice.  Yum Yum!

That’s a condensed version of my week.  I’ll be taking a break over the weekend from sewing and crafty projects.  The family and I have major movie watching, board game playing plans starting this evening!  Hope you all have fun with your families and friends as well!

Happy Double Post Friday!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Double Post Friday

  1. Dewayne says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!
    “The right to be heard does not autmatically include the right to be taken seriously.” by Hubert Humphrey.

  2. cjbolinger says:

    Glad you found the info you were looking for! Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

