Winter Wear for Romania

DSC_9614Are you ready for another charity crafting project through Craft Hope?  Project 21 is a Rally for Romania!  Crafters around the world are hand-making blankets, hats, and scarves for orphaned/at-risk children and at-risk families in Romania to help them prepare for the harsh winters in their region.  I know, that I personally feel like hiding in my nice warm bed, under my nice warm blankets every time the temperature dips below 40 degrees.  I have the luxury of owning a bed, a blanket, four enclosed walls to call home, and central heating in that home.  Many of the people in Romania don’t have any of those luxuries….  at all…  Can you imagine trying to keep your children even remotely warm without a house or heating, without a blanket or any winter wear?

can imagine.  And it breaks my heart.

DSC_9621Gather your fleece, yarn, and fabric!  You can sew!  You can knit/crochet!  You can even cut fleece and tie knots to make scarves and blankets with the greatest of ease (no sewing involved)!  I’ve decided to focus on loom knitting yarn scarves for the time being because I’m most comfortable with straight lines!  The scarves (above) each took 1 and a half skeins of thick yarn.  I would like to experiment with fleece hats soon, as I still have some scraps leftover from the bib project, which should work nicely.  There are no specifications/requirements – items can be made for babies, children, or adults.  Deadline is May 20th, which is an EASY date for me to remember because it is my wedding anniversary!  Anyone can get involved in this project!  If you have any questions, please check out the Craft Hope website, send me a message, or leave a comment here on my blog.

DSC_9603

DSC_9610Let’s rally together to make winter a little easier this year for so many people who are desperately in need!  Let’s keep some precious little heads, ears, and necks warm!

IMG_5131Happy to get all tangled up in yarn for the people of Romania!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Wear for Romania

  1. abbie berning says:

    Nice and warm,

Leave a Reply

