Crafty Catch-Up & a Field Trip

My crafting, as far as I can tell, is still out-of-control….!  Not complaining!  Just stating a fact.  I have balls of yarn in the corner of the dining room.  There are jewelry findings all over the dining room table.  Permanent botanicals and feathers litter my craft room work spaces….  My house needs to be tidied, de-cluttered, and de-craftified in the worst way.  And, yes, I’m making up words again, de-craft-i-fied (the process of removing craft supplies from your general living spaces and cordoning them off in the appropriated craft nook) just sounds right, don’t you think?!?

To catch everyone up:

DSC_9671Still working on loom knitting scarves for Romania!!!  And truly enjoying the process! It’s really neat to see what can be make from a couple skeins of yarn, and I’m always excited to see what the color patterns are going to look like!

DSC_9666Enjoying the fabulous colors and textures!  The different weights of yarn each produce a different look based on the thickness of the string.  For this project, I’m sticking with heavy weight, bulky, thick yarns because the knit ends up looking tighter and will be warmer to wear.

IMG_5322I want to keep this scarf so badly for myself because of the luscious orange…..  but I won’t!  Finished it last night and packed it lovingly into the box for Romania!

To answer a few questions that I’ve received about the Rally for Romania project:

  1. What if all I can afford (time and money) to send  is one thing?  Should I even bother?  YES!!!  Please make that one item and send it!  That is one more person that will have something snuggly warm to wear for the winter.  I’m sure that that one person will be very thankful!
  2. What if I can’t knit or crochet?  These scarves, hats, and blankets do not have to be made from yarn.  You can use fleece to make all of the winter items and you can also get away without sewing if you use fleece!  Google search for no-sew fleece projects.
  3. I’m not crafty at all.  Is there a way that I can still participate?  You don’t have to be crafty to participate.  If you can cut material with scissors and tie knots then you can make a no-sew fleece blanket, no-sew fleece scarves, and I’ve even seen a tutorial for no-sew fleece hats!  And, I always encourage those who don’t feel as crafty to pray over the project!!!  That is a great way to help and anyone can do it!

Thanks for the questions!  If you think of any others, just let me know!

DSC_9675Finally finished up my hair clippies from the Crafty Colletive Craft Night!  I had assembled the flower petals and fought with the feathers at the party, but waited until I could raid my button stash at home to attach the centerpieces and the clips.  Made this clip specifically for the daughter.  Alex specified that she loved the lime green and polka dot florals, so I combined them for the best of both worlds!  And, found the perfect polka dot button in my stash – yea!

DSC_9630Made this one for Alex’s school musical performance.  Crafty leader, Tayla N., was gracious enough to gift the centerpiece of this flower to me.  She had some extra embellishments that she wasn’t using, and this silver flower piece worked perfectly with the layers of lavender petals!  Thanks again, Tayla!

DSC_9736

And, this mama jama is my finished hair clip!  I was finally able to get the petals to poof out, got my feathers stuck into place just right, and added some amazing bling to the center – it all came together, and now I’m ready for a date night so that I can wear it!  Winks at the Hubbs!  😉

PendantsAnd, last but not least with regards to the crafty catch-up, I have added new spring necklaces to my Ruffled Rose facebook page, which can be found here.  Check them out!

I went out in search of more yarn yesterday.  I have found that I can go to Michael’s craft store and buy one skein of yarn at 40% off each day of the week, or I can take the Hubbs with me and we can walk out with two skeins of yarn on sale.  I can go to Hobby Lobby and do the same thing, but their yarn is slightly higher priced.  Didn’t have much luck at Jo Ann’s with price or selection.  Hancock Fabrics has been my favorite stop so far because they have a 25% sale on all of their yarn right now.  That doesn’t sound like much, but I have found some great, bulky yarn there for $2.99 a skein, which is currently the lowest price that I’ve run across, and then take 25% off of that price and SCORE!

IMG_5314I wanted to take a field trip to a specialty yarn store here in Wichita, just because.  The name of the store is Twist.  It’s located in the historic Delano District.  There are all kinds of fun, unique shops lined up on Douglas Street.  One of my fave fabric stores, Material Girls, is in this same district.

IMG_5317I walked into the store and immediately noticed several things:  first, a fantabulous rainbow of colorful yarn lines the walls of the shop!  Second, there was a group of  ladies sitting around tables in the center of the shop learning to knit, and they took up a large portion of the store….  It’s a small place and I wasn’t going to be able to browse through all of the skeins because of the lack of walking space…  bummer…  And, third, no one greeted me when I walked through the door.  no.  one.  Double bummer…

IMG_5318After awkwardly walking around, looking at super soft, incredibly colored, expensively priced yarn for a few minutes, I asked if there might be a clearance section at this establishment because I was looking for good quality yarn for a charity project.  I was told that even the sale yarn probably wouldn’t be in my price range and that I should try going to the Good Will stores.  My own personal Pretty Woman moment….  

IMG_5319

I really wanted to like this store…  but don’t think I’d head back any time soon.  Always trying to find the bright side?  I really loved these knitting pins, specifically the Knit Nerd! 

WHEW!  That was a lot of information!  I need to walk away from my computer now and try to tame my craft-i-fied house…  Wish me luck!

Happy to be a Crafty Lady even though the Crafty-ness is taking over my house!!!  😀

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crafty Catch-Up & a Field Trip

  1. abbie berning says:

    Pretty neat stuff!! Those clipies are neat/pretty. Thanks for yesterday!!!

  2. cjbolinger says:

    Thanks a bunch! Glad you came out on Wed. night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

