Feliz Cinco de Mayo, Todo el Mundo!

IMG_5434Isn’t this tablecloth & table and chair set adorable?  I am in love with the vibrant colors and the whimsy!  I saw this little piece of picnic paradise over at Material Girls when I went searching for fabric last week.  Even the bolts of fabric in the background add a fancy flair!

IMG_5509-2Fell in love with this lovely fabric combination and decided to take it home with me!  Goes well with my eggplant zippers, which my oldest son had to explain to my mother was definitely different from just plain old purple zippers…!  What do you know?  That child DOES listen to me on occasion!  And, my mom probably thinks we’re both bonkers!

IMG_5486This was taken on Saturday at Game Night at church – a self portrait at one of the game stations.  The little ones battled each other and friends to rounds of Labyrinth, which is one of our family-friendly faves.  I learned how to play a card game by the name of Hand and Foot.  It took a little bit of getting used to with the Lords and Ladys, clean and dirty piles, and too much scoring for me to keep track of, but it was enjoyable and I’d play it again.  Farkle, on the other hand, was just a train wreck waiting to happen for myself and any other member of the Bolinger Clan…  because as many of you know, the dice still don’t like us….  I rolled and rolled and rolled my way to the lowest score on the card….  The Hubbs and the oldest son actually enjoyed Farkle though?!   Enough to play a couple of times at church,  and then later, to install apps on their phones at home!  😉

Sunday was Cinco de Mayo!!!  This holiday is actually not a celebration of Mexico’s independence, as many people think.  It is the celebration of the Battle of Puebla, which happened on the fifth of May, 1862, when the invading French attacked the City of Puebla three times only to run out of ammo, be attacked by the Mexicans, and end up having to flee.  This battle did not end the war, but it was an unexpected triumph for the Mexican people, and was a cause for celebration.  In the United States, Cinco de Mayo is celebrated to commemorate freedoms and independences won for the settling Mexican-Americans in the West during the American Civil War.

Hands down, this is one of my favorite eating holidays EVER – right up there with the Super Bowl!  The ancestors, on my mother’s side of the family, originated from Mexico.  Not much tradition was passed down by the time my sister and I were around, but what I do remember vividly is the FOOD:  homemade tortillas with butter, salmon with tomatoes, onions and sopa (rice), cheese and onion enchiladas with the slightly bitter sauce.  YUM YUM!

IMG_5502I enjoy making mexican food at home.  And, if the recipe uses the triad photographed ab0ve?  Then I’m a happy lady!  Give me some tomatoes, avocados, and lots of garlic any day of the week!  IMG_5497And please don’t forget the limes!!!  Tangy, citrus flavor is always welcome in my kitchen!

In honor of this favorite eating holiday,  I made Carne Asada (which basically means smoked meat) for dinner.  Now, why is this such an honor?  Because the Bolinger’s can count on one left hand the number of times we eat steak each year – it’s minuscule, I can assure you!  So, I was pretty hyped up to marinate and cook some red meat!

Carne Asada Marinade Recipe

  • garlic cloves (I use 3-4 BIG cloves or 6 small cloves)
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 TBL white vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • large handful of chopped cilantro
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Mix all of these ingredients together and place into a large ziplock bag.  Place the meat that you’d like to marinate into the bag and seal, place in refrigerator for 2-4 hours.  I used a skirt steak so that I could grill it and slice it into strips for fajitas, served with onions, bell peppers, and tortillas.  I’m not gonna lie, it was quite delightful and just sitting here typing about it is making me hungry again…!

Next topic!  We’re getting closer to the deadline for Craft Hope’s Project: Rally for Romania:   May 20th.  There’s just under two weeks left to work on your projects and to ship them.  Here’s the link for the project information:  http://www.crafthope.com/blog/2013/04/-project-21-rally-for-roma.html

DSC_9790I finally got brave and knitted a matching yarn hat for this scarf (above), and am absolutely ecstatic because of the cuteness!!!  I mean, look at how adorable the little pom pom is on top of this hat!  Can you just see a little Romanian boy running around in this hat???  😀

Well, if you know me at all, I couldn’t stop there….  Instead of sending fleece hats, like originally planned, I grabbed ALL of my yarn leftovers and a couple extra skeins from Hancock fabric and set out to knit matching hats for my finished scarves.  This is gonna happen, people!  I still have time!  Will update again soon!

And, I think that’s it for today!  I NEED to work on laundry.  My family would appreciate it if I made a trip to the grocery store.  Errands and piles of clothes are calling my name… Have a lovely day!!!!

Happy to go fabric shopping, play games at church, and make & eat yummy foods for national eating holidays!  Happy that what started out as such a scary notion turned into the not-so-scary knitting of hats with the cuteness factor of pom poms on top!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feliz Cinco de Mayo, Todo el Mundo!

  1. abbie berning says:

    YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

