Box Full O’ Colorful Yarn

DSC_9872-2I can’t even express how ADORABLE I think my family is right now – can they get any cuter?!?  They are modeling some of the hats and scarves that will be heading to Romania soon.   The picture above just makes me smile – can anyone guess what my plans are for family Christmas cards this year?!?  I need MORE yarn….

DSC_9814The items in this box full o’ colorful yarn have been prayed over, that God will lead each hat to find a little head and each scarf to find a little neck in need of warmth and comfort, and that my loom knitting efforts will hold up and give each recipient plenty of opportunity for wear and tear!  God speed, box full o’ colorful yarn!  God speed!

DSC_9983-2The project ends on May 20th, so it’s time to finish up those last items and get them ready to ship!  The shipping address here in the United States is:

Craft Hope

c/o Jessica Huettel

2930 Manila Lane

Houston, TX 77043

DSC_9988-2

DSC_0020Today, I had a special guest drop by to add some winter hats to the colorful mix!  I met Tayla N. through the crafting group that she started called the Crafty Collective.  We meet at her house once or twice each month to craft together and to give back to our community through crafty service projects.  Tayla is a kind hearted, artistic spirit and owner of her own crafty enterprise, Wildfire Accessorieswhere she makes gorgeous penny jewelry, woven bracelets, and lovely purses!

DSC_0040Tayla taught herself to crochet specifically to help out with this project!  Look at what a WONDERFUL job she did on this family of hats!!!  She learned two different kinds of stitches to make these and I am very impressed.  Thank you so much, Tayla for your hard work and participation in this project.  😀

DSC_0024I had the Hubbs take a couple of pics for me this afternoon.  Here’s Tayla and I posing in our winter wear, all the while, there’s greenery blooming everywhere and we’re sweating because it’s probably close to 80 degrees by the time this photo was taken.  Thanks again to Tayla for being a good sport during the photo shoot and for playing dress up this afternoon!

DSC_0030And, I had to try on the delicious orange set one last time…  I CAN let it go, and I WILL!

I have gotten tangled up in yarn so many times in the past several weeks…  my dog, Maddie has too (and it freaks her out, though I’m not sure why…?) so Gregg now calls my skeins of yarn, tangles!  He asks me, “Do you need to go to Michael’s and get a tangle?” which I think is super cute!  I learned how to knit on a loom and saw a lump of yarn transformed into something beautiful and functional.  This was such a pleasing project (I haven’t tried a project that I didn’t like so far) and I’m kind of sad to see it end…  I already have a list of people to make more hats and scarves for though, so there will be plenty of knitting in my future.  And, I’m sure that Craft Hope will list their next project soon!

Happy to learn some new knitting skills!  Happy to participate on this service project with fellow crafty lady,  Tayla!  Happy to Rally for Romania!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Box Full O’ Colorful Yarn

  1. Abbie Berning says:

    I couldn’t post a comment below so I wanted to say nice hats good job very lovely!!!!

Leave a Reply

