A Food Revolution

Who’s on board for a food revolution?!?  May 17th was Jamie Oliver’s official Food Revolution Day, where people around the world focused on cooking with natural, fresh ingredients and serving meals made from scratch.  Some restaurants gave cooking demos to share their wealth of knowledge and culinary skills.  Schools held fundraisers to start their own gardens.  Families got together in their very own kitchens to prepare their own meals.  All of these efforts were used to promote healthy eating!

I thoroughly love this idea and am of the opinion that every day should be a valiant attempt at revolutionizing the way that we currently eat.  We live in a fast paced world with work, school, chores, extracurricular activities, and much more.  Who has the time to make meals at home?  How many of us eat out at fast food restaurants much more than we should; drive-thru and grab food out of a window?  I’m a stay-at-home mom and I too have a difficult time getting home cooked meals on the dinner table on a regular basis.  So, it is with much dismay that I hang my head in shame and confess that my family ate out for lunch AND dinner on Food Revolution Day…

I had grand plans, mind you, grand plans to participate…  alas, life happens and the Hubbs and I were celebrating our 13th wedding anniversary early with a lunch date and a movie.  And, then it just wasn’t fair for the bride of 13 years to have to slave over a hot stove that evening, so we ate out again with the kids…  But, each day is a brand new start!  Start whenever you can, however you can!

IMG_5623-2Our weekend was much healthier.  Gregg and I started out with a quick walk around the farmer’s market on Saturday morning.  I say quick because I knew exactly what I wanted, THE star ingredient for my meals:  home grown Kansas tomatoes!!!  I started to get a little nervous as we passed emu oil, John Wayne art pieces, soap, herbs, and everything but tomatoes.  At the very end of our walk though, we found what we were looking for!

IMG_5619-2Look at this couple’s truck and tomato stand!  They had large, bright red, ripe tomatoes for sale. I’ll buy from them all season long if I can.  Enjoyed the sign on their truck that says “Same Place 26 Years.”  I can see why they stay in business; their tomatoes are delicious!

IMG_5626-2We buzzed back around the vendor’s booths as I snapped a few photos on my phone for this blog post.  We delighted in the senses of the farmer’s market: the look, the smell, and the taste of fresh produce.  I can’t wait to go back for a summer photo walk when there’s an even larger variety of fruits and veggies available.

IMG_5627-2IMG_5631-2IMG_5630-2IMG_5629-2

Some of the things on our made-from-scratch menu over the weekend: DSC_0053                                                   Banana Cinnamon Muffins

IMG_4159Bruschetta Chicken with Bowtie Pasta & Balsamic Glaze

DSC_0143Stir Fry with Fried Rice  (Yes, those are tomatoes in my stir fry!  Put them into the stir fry last and heat them up ever so slightly before serving.  Try it!)

IMG_5696Apple Granola

Not every meal will be or can be 100% homemade, 100% of the time.  We are busy people with FULL lives, so we shouldn’t be made to feel horrible about that.  It’s just a fact.  That doesn’t mean that we should take the easy, fast food route out however!  Not all the time anyway!  ;D

There are so many websites out there with recipes available for anyone to use.  I frequent:

Allrecipes.com

Foodnetwork.com

Annies-eats.com

Eatingwell.com

And, I hang out on Pinterest every now and again pinning recipes that I’d like to try.  Family and friends can also be an invaluable source for sharing tried and true recipes.  If you have a favorite recipe and would like to share a link, please leave a comment below!

I often times feel as though I’m not a good cook because I can’t decide what to serve, what recipes to try.  I feel as though my recipe “flops” are epic failures that cannot easily be recouped from.  But I think that the main point is to keep trying!  Continue menu planning, grocery shopping, and experimenting in the kitchen for a healthier diet and healthier lifestyle.

Happy to cook made-from-scratch meals for my family whenever possible, and Happy to vow to try to cook at home even more!  Happy Food Revolution Day (a few days late…)!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

