Flip Flop Fashion Show

DSC_0248-2From winter hats & scarves directly to summer flip flops, Craft Hope has announced Project 22:  Flip Flops for Nicaragua.  More specifically, flip flops for the Children of La Chureca, for the children who live in the dumps there…  to protect their feet as they scrounge for food, search for items to sell, and basically live in the dumps….  To read more details about the children of la chureca, please visit the Craft Hope website.  

This is a wonderful opportunity for all craft levels to tie fabric/ribbon, glue jewels/buttons, crochet, duct tape, and anything else that you can dream up to decorate flip flops!!!  Raid those craft rooms for supplies!  I have accumulated a rather large stash of leftover crafting goodies because I assume that some day I’ll be able to use them.  And, honest to goodness, my hoarding tendencies in this area of my life have always paid off!

DSC_0286Using up yarn scraps from the last Craft Hope project to make crocheted flip flops!       For a tutorial, click here.

DSC_0297From my ever-FULL fabric bins, pulled out some scraps, cut them into equal lengths, and tied double knots to make this fun, fabric-embellished pair of flip flops.

DSC_0305Found two leftover bolts of zebra ribbon (from a birthday project for Alex last year), and using the exact same method as the fabric flip fops, made this funky, ribbon pair!

DSC_0376Wrapped striped ribbon (from my holiday spool project) around the straps of these flip flops, and then embellished with a flower.  The flowers (above) were made by layering and gluing felt floral shapes together and adding a button.  The felt flowers were remnants from a past Girl Scout project and I think you’ve all seen my button stash… no mystery where the buttons came from!

DSC_0629Which leads us to the fantastically fun button flip flops (above) with fleece flower accents.  I still have plenty of fleece leftover from a baby bib for Craft Hope.

DSC_0867There are SO MANY possibilities for decorating flip flops for girls!  You can use fake flowers, or as my best friend refers to them, permanent botanicals.  Use rhinestones, duct tape, patches, foam pieces, glitter, etc., etc.

DSC_0407I was having a difficult time coming up with ideas for decorating flip flops for boys because, let’s face it, boys are not going to want ribbons, flowers, and bows adorning their shoes…  Here are a few ideas to help get the wheels turning: The leftover pom poms from Ben’s science, atom-building assignment proved useful turning this pair of flip flops into fuzzy little monsters!

DSC_0472I adore the fuzzy little monster flip flops!!!  If it was socially acceptable for a thirty-something-year-old woman to wear these, then I would!!!

DSC_0503With some leftover ribbon, from my Hubb’s Roman Halloween costume, we ended up with a very regal, sophisticated pair of flip flops from Roman times!

DSC_0442And, that’s when my craft supplies began to dwindle…  I went to the craft store and bought some boy-ish duct tape to tape off the straps on these flip flops.  I think that the little green critters with the sharp teeth and crazy tongues give a more masculine feel?!?

DSC_0380These would work for both boys and girls, but I’m seriously trying to even out the decorating playing field for the boys here, so these have added grommets, soccer ball ribbon, and soccer ball centerpiece.  I used a hole punch and a grommet set to add some boyish character and to off-set the fact that I did use ribbon on this pair…

My goal is to continue working on flip flops for boys so that I can try to send the same amount of pairs for boys as for girls.  I’ve seen some cool flip flops decorated by tying water balloons to the straps, which are adorable.  I’m also planning to crochet a couple of pairs with more masculine colors of yarn.   If you have any ideas to share, please let me know!

As you can see, there are tons of ways to use up items from your craft rooms/items you may already have stashed around your house.  Flip flops are easily available since they’re in season right now.  I’ve been purchasing pairs from Michael’s because of the color selections, varied sizes available, and the price.  Consider participating in this great project!

Deadline for this project is:  July 10th

Happy that my children have shoes on their feet!  Happy to decorate flip flops for the Children of La Chureca!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flip Flop Fashion Show

  1. abbie berning says:

    Pretty darn cute all of them. Happy Feet to all the children in La Chueca nice treat for them God bless you!!! For all you do!

Leave a Reply

