Sketch Crawl 2013

Have you ever heard of a Sketch Crawl?  I hadn’t either, but I was invited to one last weekend.  Once I heard that it was a gathering for fun, artistic souls to socialize, sketch, write poetry, wear sweaters, and even photograph, I was like, “Sign me up!!!”

Each year, the crawl is scheduled for a specific date, and people all over the world meet with their peers/friends to sketch together on that date, uploading photos of their work, and sharing online with the rest of the community.  I’ve done something exactly like this when Wichita participated in Scott Kelby’s Photo Walk (people all over the world going out on the exact same date to photograph different locations and then uploading & sharing their photographs online later that day).

The meeting place for the Sketch Crawl this year was at Sedgwick County Park.  Once the group scouted out a location, we set up camp:  lawn chairs, coolers and snacks, tripods, and art supplies.  While some of the group members immediately got to sketching, I did a perimeter check with my camera.

This is what I found:

DSC_5863

DSC_5871 DSC_5875 DSC_5877 DSC_5887 DSC_5903

DSC_5911Disclaimer:  I went to a Sketch Crawl knowing full well that I don’t sketch….  I do consider myself an artsy soul however, and I was wearing a sweater….  and I bought the (above) sketchbook specifically for the event.  So I rolled up my sweater sleeves, opened the book to its crisp first page, and I started to draw…

DSC_5931But every so often, I’d look up and see something else that desperately required my photographic attention!!!  It’s totally NOT my fault!!!!  DSC_5943

I mean, this goose sauntering by was practically begging for a photo shoot.

DSC_6000And look at this tiny dancer; her ballet performance was not to be missed.

DSC_5988 DSC_5987While the squirrels were a bit more difficult to catch on camera, they found time to relax and munch on some strawberries from the cooler.  This epic cuteness was worth the amount of time I spent chasing them from place to place, tripping over tree roots and stumbling upon other photo-worthy subjects!

DSC_5968 DSC_5964Broken, hollowed out tree trunks hold so much detail and mystery.  The crime would be walking right past without snapping a photo…

DSC_5998 DSC_5991This man came to feed his friends (like he does every day) and our sketching area became even more infested with hungry geese than it already was.  It was quite a sight!

DSC_6008 DSC_6012By the end of the afternoon, I had a couple of drawings to share with the group.  I was more enthused to go home and get pics off my camera to share those!  BUT, I did participate in the Sketch Crawl with actual sketches!  My top sketch was voted on to be the “Cover Page” for our group’s crawl when sharing our work with the rest of the world. In my opinion, it is very child-like, but it does very blatantly advertise what we saw that day!

And so you have it, a glorious afternoon with slightly chilly weather, sun shining, nature preparing for the seasonal changes, wildlife scurrying about observing the humans and vice versa.  It was beautiful and humbling to just sit and ponder the intricacies of God’s amazing creations!  And, I’m not gonna lie, an afternoon with no distractions from home (chores, crafts, kids, etc) was just a little delightful!

Happy to have been invited to Sketch Crawl 2013 by fellow artsy soul, Glenn G.  I would be ever so happy to participate again next year!

 

 

 

 

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketch Crawl 2013

  1. abbie berning says:

    LOVE IT ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

