Christmas Trees, Oh Christmas Trees….!

Last night, the kids and I drove downtown for the Mayor’s Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony.  It was a lovely, brisk evening (not terribly cold, but cold enough for coats and scarves).  We got there early in order to get a primo parking spot, and then ate our dinner in the car before walking over to Century II.

The kids and I enjoyed:

DSC_8481Live music

DSC_8489Street-side snowflakes

DSC_8533Christmas carolers

DSC_8560A Christmas Tree lighting

DSC_8553 DSC_8551-2Mrs. Claus reading “Twas the Night Before Christmas”

DSC_8573DSC_8584Santa’s impressive arrival by fire truck

DSC_8601 DSC_8644DSC_8729DSC_8896 DSC_8859 DSC_8808And a spectacular, most awesome fireworks display!!!  The highlight of my evening!

DSC_8547The kids really enjoyed this event, which makes me giggle because they weren’t 100% enthused about leaving the house.  They always think that I’m going to drag them somewhere where they won’t want to go, to do something that they won’t want to do….  WHEN will they learn?!?

The only thing that would’ve made the night even more perfect???  If Gregg was home and could’ve gone with us, so that we could enjoy as a family…  The kids and I were already making plans, by the Mayor’s Tree, to bring him with us next year!

DSC_8590 DSC_8916 DSC_8911We took a few more pictures and then hurriedly, excitedly ran over to the Cake Face food truck to get desserts!  The kids ordered cinnamon rolls while I ordered the most delicious brownie with peanut butter, milk chocolate, and sea salt caramel.  Oh the yumminess!

DSC_8769-2One last photo from the fireworks display because the ethereal light effect happening in this photo was a surprise and kinda cool.  I’m sure it has something to do with the insanely bright light exuding from the center of the firework.  I like it!

If you’re interested in watching the tail end of the AMAZING firework display from the ceremony this evening, I’ve uploaded the last 3 minutes that I caught on my phone:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITxn0vRC5zs

And since we’re on the topic of Christmas Trees with the Mayor’s Tree Lighting Ceremony, I thought I’d go ahead and share the Bolinger Family Christmas Trees with you (minus the Believe Tree because it is still under construction by the kids, PLUS their basement/kid-zone is such a mess that it is unphotographable at the moment…)

1457539_10152025327306170_1396590124_nThis tree is my natural/nature inspired tree with wood, felt, yarn textures, including the unique jute-esque, patterned ribbon wound throughout the thick Douglas Fir branches.  I wanted a tree with non-traditional colors that reflected my LOVE of nature, so we have burnt orange, olive green, lime green, aqua blue ornaments, along with light and dark browns to round everything out.  I consider this little 4.5 ft. cutie to be all mine!

1404956_10152038766416170_1227696381_oThis is our family tree called the “Let it Snow” tree.  I think the theme is obvious?  The red, lime green, and white explosion that takes place in our living room each year is beyond FUN!  I took decorating lessons from my BFF for two Christmases in a row so that I’d be able to independently weave ribbons and garland expertly through the tree’s branches.  I lovingly tuck in snowflakes and strategically place ornament bulbs everywhere!!!  It is a glitter-filled labor of love!

DSC_8056Last but not least, we have a new addition to the Bolinger’s Christmas Tree Family:  dah dah dah DAH – I present the “Tabletop Tree!”  I wanted to make something totally unique for my Hubbs to decorate his office.  This tree is completely and utterly customized for Gregg!

DSC_8063-2  It has homemade scrabble tile ornaments with words like:  Geek, Nerd Alert, Board Games, Bolinger, Cards, Dice, Rules, etc.

DSC_8096-2

I made ornaments and buttons online that have various board game cover images on them, for instance:  Adventurers, Zombicide, Smash Up, Takenoko, King of Tokyo, etc., etc.

DSC_8058

Oh, and do you see the Cthulhu with the Santa hat at the top of the tree?!?  Can’t forget about that crazy little guy from Lovecraft’s Arkham Horror series of books and games.  That goes right along with the Elder Sign star at the very top of the tree!

DSC_8091 DSC_8085-2Gregg’s reaction to this surprise tree was absolutely priceless to me!  He had a huge grin on his face as he tried to take it all in!  There are even mini keychain board games hanging from some of the branches (UNO, Monopoly, and Clue)!  The Hubbs immediately scooped up his tree and found a prominent place for it in his office amidst the family’s board game collection!

Yes, we have numerous trees in our home….  Yes, we might be crazy…..  Yes, we thoroughly enjoy Christmas and yes, we go ALL out in the decorating department….  It’s a wonderful, expressive time of year!  I would be remiss if I didn’t flat out exclaim that our family believes that JESUS is the absolute reason for this season!  Thank you, Lord for sending your Son to be born in a manger, to walk this earth for a limited time, to preach and to teach His disciples, and to die on a cross to save us all for our sins.  We may have different ways of expressing our excitement for this monumental event, and for the Christmas season, mine is through spending quality time with my family, attending fun, Christmas-inspired community events, and decorating CHRISTMAS TREES!

Happy Birthday to my Savior!  Happy to be a saved child of God!

About cjbolinger

I am a stay-at-home mother of three children (Ben, Alex, and Christian), a wife who is head-over-heels in love with her husband of 13 years (Gregg), a hobbyist photographer, and a lover of everything crafty! Follow my attempts at domesticity as I cook, clean, and craft for my family...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Trees, Oh Christmas Trees….!

  1. abbie berning says:

    SPOOKtacular fireworks looked amazing!! Cool photos thanks for sharing!!!!!!!!Glad the sun is out today makes me warm thank you Jesus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

